Skip to content

B is for Duh

April 13, 2010

The finding of the perfect headwear is just about over.

Here’s the thing, it’s getting too warm for all the cute knit hats that I have. So it’s time for scarves, those cute scrub hats I bought, or baseball caps.

Unfortunately, whenever I catch my reflection in a store window or some such type of reflector, while wearing a scarf or one of those cute scub hats – I think I’m looking at a housewife from 1960. Definitely not the look I’m going for. Like I should care about how I look while I’m battling The Cancer. But I do care how I look. And I don’t want to be reminded of The Cancer just because I catch my reflection in a store window.

So baseball caps are the way to go. I’m just going to have to build up a tolerance for the little bit of irritation I feel from them. And I’m also going to have to feel comfortable to yank it off when the mood strikes.

Yesterday I was running around in one of those cute scrub caps. And then I caught my image in a window. And for a second there, I thought it was my Catholic elementary school friend Barb’s mom – Bubbles. Really. Bubbles is her name. She had 11 kids and would sometimes where a scarf on her head. Who’d have time to do their hair with 11 kids?

So there I was, Bubbles, from my childhood years of 1965-1967. Don’t get me wrong, I love Bubbles (hi Barb!) It’s just that I didn’t want that look. Not for a few more years, at least.

I went into Target, in search of a Twins baseball cap. Afterall, it was the home opener in the brand new Target Field. But Target was out of Twins caps. They had a cute one with a B on it, so I bought it and after I got to my car, I ripped that stupid scrub cap off and put the baseball cap on.

When I got home, Thing 1 looked at me funny and asked where I got the cap. “Target. B is for Baseball!” And then I went to the bathroom, where I removed my cap and noticed the writing on the back of the cap…”Red Sox.”

The team that was playing the Minnesota Twins in their first game at Target Field.

I am so thick sometimes. But hey, we kicked the Red Sox’s butts and I have a hat that will remind me of that first game at the new field. Anyone in Minnesota could have a Twins cap!

Today I plan on running over to the Mall and hunting down a decent Twins cap.

B is for baseball.

Yeesh

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2010 8:33 am

    You are just too funny! Good luck finding your cap!

  2. April 13, 2010 8:37 am

    Of course you care how you look! I’ve told you (and the rest of the world), vanity is a survival tool.

    What about simple caps decorated with jewelry? I know you could do it.

    (Incidentally, I was delighted to see that the Twins beat the Red Sox. 8))

  3. April 13, 2010 8:58 am

    HAHAHHA. You bought a Red Sox hat! 🙂 Too funny.

  4. April 13, 2010 9:03 am

    That is Thee Funniest thing I have read in forever. B is for baseball, that’s good enough for me.

  5. Suzi permalink
    April 13, 2010 9:14 am

    B is for bahahahahahahahaha! I love it! The sequined hat mentioned above reminds me of Richard Simmons.

  6. fran permalink
    April 13, 2010 10:31 am

    Duhh… I would have thought and done the exact same thing! Tee hee.

  7. Claudia permalink
    April 13, 2010 11:29 am

    I’m going to the Yankee game tomorrow! B is for Baseball!!!

    x0x0

  8. Barb permalink
    April 13, 2010 10:03 pm

    OMG too funny. That’s the only way I remember my mom Bubbles when I was a kid, scarves, scarves, scarves. They almost looked like turbins. B for baseball works for me!!

Leave a Reply

