Skip to content

The Scarves of Yesteryear

April 14, 2010

Dear Childhood Friend Barb: See? I remembered that right. Your mom was always wearing scarves! And your dad is still a clown! Heh.

Why didn’t my mom wear scarves? Probably had something to do with that naturally curly hair that I somehow managed not to inherit. Even though my three siblings did. I’m so adopted and one day, somebody’s going to tell me who my real family is. A family of people with straight hair. I thought that the truth would come out when my dad died. Alas, no news of my hidden adoption. If my mother is right, I will have another chance of finding out by the end of this month. Kind of. Mom can’t seem to remember alot of things these days. One of them being that her daughter is bald and no, that is not a man in her house in the middle of the day when she drops by, sans invitation.

Every time I run errands by myself, it does get easier to run around in the general public. With a baseball cap. Scarves just aren’t me. They really aren’t. I might wear them from time to time, and I do love Rhoda (what was Joe thinking?), but I’m not a scarves kind of gal. What I need to do is take a friend to the store with me so I can search for more baseball caps. I won’t try on caps when I’m by myself. I’ve only got so much bravery in me. And I’m saving up that bravery to help me go to chemo next week. It’s going to take every inch of bravery in me to walk in there on my own feet.

Or a whole lot of duct tape and some strong carriers.

I can’t do a wig, either. I’ve got sensitive skin on a No Cancer day. Have always suffered from break-outs due to all sorts of skin care products. Figured out the 2 kinds of facial lotion I can wear without suffering from bright red, burning skin, and pimples. Which is the same problem I’m having with my head – only my head doesn’t want the lotion on it that my face will allow.  Hats are making me break-out more. I can’t imagine what a wig would do to my head and I’m just not willing to try.

I’m a sensitive kind of gal, don’tcha know. I’m also a pain in the ass and impossible to please. The Cancer didn’t change who I was. Just added an off flavor.

Let’s go to some good news, shall we? My legs? They are hairless and I won’t have to bother shaving them for the summer.  Hurray! My arms? Almost hairless. I think. They’ve pretty much been almost hairless because my arm hair is blonde and fine. But still, I think there looks to be less of it. No more hair under my arms. No more shaving for the summer!!

My eyebrows are thinning, but I still have eyelashes. And as long as I have eyelashes, I’m going to curl them and apply mascara. I’m not sure if I’ll draw on eyebrows. I don’t think I should be held responsible for drawing on eyebrows. I’m not artistic. Not with the painting or drawing. If I could figure out a way to attach a string of beads, maybe.

And almost no hair left where you shouldn’t even be asking me about. God! So rude!

So Brazillian!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie permalink
    April 14, 2010 9:15 am

    I’d be happy to send you a Mississippi State hate (maroon and white) or an LSU hat (purple and gold). You could start dressing to match your favorite schools/professional teams, even if you couldn’t care less about say LSU. Who knows, maybe you’d find you’re actually quite an Auburn or Tennessee dresser. If anyone could start a new trend, I do believe it would be you!

    P.S. Stella needs a friend. Have just the right pain-in-the-ass boxer in my own household. Will send also.

    • April 14, 2010 9:59 am

      Melanie – that is an hysterical thought – you sending me your state’s hate!

      Anyone who wants to send me a baseballish cap – send away!

  2. Melanie permalink
    April 14, 2010 9:16 am

    Uh, that’s hat, not hate. Though my husband has plenty of Mississippi State hate laying around the house, actually.

  3. April 14, 2010 9:17 am

    The eyebrows were the hardest, and I don’t think they have ever grown back completely. What annoyed me is that I couldn’t see where to draw them, and using a stencil made me look like Mr. Spock. (OK, I have old-fashioned eyebrows.) But really, isn’t it a good thing that you won’t have to bother with shaving those parts that you’re too tired to shave anyhow?

    • April 14, 2010 1:44 pm

      I’m kind of hoping I can draw on eyebrows like my drunk Aunt Idelle did. First, I need to get drunk. And then I need to get my hands on an eyebrow pencil. Maybe I can have a “Mr. Spock” day!

  4. Connie permalink
    April 14, 2010 9:50 am

    Hi Kathy, I’ll try this again and see if I get blocked. I just googled baseball caps embroidered and found tons of websites where you can get cute caps with whatever you want on it. the catalog/website Personal Creations had cute colored baseball caps in a bunch of spring colors. you could have whatever you wanted put on them. how about “Ugly people need hair” or “F-off cancer”.

    lova ya!

  5. April 14, 2010 11:13 am

    Do you remember the baseball caps that had a fake hair attached to the back of them. Now that would be the bomb.

  6. April 14, 2010 11:16 am

    I found it:
    http://www.stylelist.com/2010/03/15/ponytail-cap-are-you-serious/

    Your welcome. heh

  7. April 14, 2010 11:50 am

    If I have to have chemo, I am hoping for hair loss “down there” so I can, for once in my damn life, not have to shave to put on a swimsuit. Then my husband was a buzzkill and said you have to stay out of the sun when you’re on chemo. Fuck it, I’m still going to walk around in a swimsuit.

    • April 14, 2010 1:39 pm

      I’m hoping that you don’t have to have chemo. And if I have anything to say about it, you won’t. After all, it was my fault you got cancer in the first place.

      Can I just mention how jealous I am that you are concerned about the swimsuit issue? I have not worn a swimsuit in over ten years! My boobs wouldn’t fit into one. Now, my boobs will fit into men’s’ swimming trunks!

  8. April 14, 2010 11:53 am

    When they shaved half my head years ago for the brain tumor, I wore bandanas, all varieties I could find of bandanas. I washed them several times before I need them so they were nice and soft. I couldn’t wear baseball caps at the time because the band in the back irritated my incision.

    • April 14, 2010 1:42 pm

      P. Chai –

      In high school, one of my close friends had a brain tumor so had her head shaved for surgery. Being that we were in the 12th grade, she had to get a wig. She had long, wavy brown hair. Got herself an Orphan Annie curly red wig. Which often times went askew. You just reminded me of that. Thx!

  9. April 14, 2010 10:42 pm

    Do you still have the HMS Pie Rat hat?

    • April 15, 2010 7:25 am

      I do. Somewhere. Will search and let you know if I can’t find it. This house is a mess!

  10. April 17, 2010 1:44 pm

    Checking in again because I can’t stay away :o)

    I remember the nose hair bugging me…not having any that is…I am sensitive to smells and well I don’t know there was no more filter there ya know….or booger catchers…LOL

    I am sending positive thoughts your way.

    Jen
    (Proud Survivor of Hodgkins times 3)

Leave a Reply

