Skip to content

Retiring from Housecleaning

April 16, 2010

Personal Note: Tammy – I’m thinking of you today.

***

I did too much yesterday and ended up having alot of nerve pain and tingling in my right arm. This made me more than a little sad and mad by the end of the day. Thankfully, it’s alot better today. I learned that I need to hire someone to do the housecleaning. The right arm does not like the vacuuming and the mopping and the bathtub cleaning.

And that I can’t make any wire-linked jewelry until this nerve trauma is behind me. Oh, please, let this nerve trauma be behind me. Although I should continue to have somebody else clean my house once the nerve trauma is gone. Wouldn’t want to risk having it come back.

I got a package of scarves and hats that I ordered from headcovers dot com. Out of the 10 I ordered, I hate all of them. Well, 2 of the scarves I didn’t hate and will keep. Seriously? I am not a scarf or little cotton hat wearer. I know. I should just get a wig. But I won’t. Hot & itchy through a humid Minnesota summer just don’t appeal to me. I’m fine with the baseball caps and a couple of “going out” scarves.

My little sis-in-law and nephew ran over last night with a Twins baseball cap for me. A girly one. So cute! And it doesn’t say “B” is for baseball. Although, the Red Sox have left Minneapolis so it’s safe(r) for me to wear the Red Sox cap.

I like that I can continue to wear my baseball caps once this stupid cancer is behind me. I think that’s what it is about the caps – they’re normal wear and I just want to be normal again.

Relatively speaking, of course.

Fun weekend plans ahead. I’m going to my niece’s Stick it to Cancer hockey game, and then hanging out on Floweer’s deck for dinner.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 10:49 am

    I have seen — though I never tried one on — a fabric hat that had hair hanging down, so that it looked like a scarf over one’s own hair. I imagine it would be cooler than a wig. I hope you can find baseball caps that don’t have itchy insides.

  2. April 16, 2010 11:34 am

    Red Sox fans are a little… gung-ho. They probably wouldn’t take kindly to a non-fan wearing a hat just because it was red. It’s kind of insane how crazy they get about their baseball. I’ve never seen fans so dedicated — unless you count Yankees fans. And don’t even mention the Red Sox to a Yankees fan or vice versa. One of the women I know here is a Yankees fan married to a Red Sox fan. She was nearly thrown out of her family and almost had to get special dispensation from the pope to get married.

    It’s that insane.

  3. April 16, 2010 12:36 pm

    Can I knit you something special, Kathy? Something to cover your beautiful wee widdle head?

  4. April 16, 2010 1:10 pm

    I should get you a pirate scaaaarrrrrrrrf.

  5. April 16, 2010 6:18 pm

    A woman I work with went through chemo a few years ago and lost her hair. She wore a bright pink baseball cap with sparkles on it, and it was very cool looking. And she’s doing great today.

    • April 16, 2010 7:25 pm

      I bet it was the sparkles! My new baseball cap from my sis-in-law has a pink lining and silvery embellishments. Sparkly!

  6. Floweer permalink
    April 17, 2010 12:06 pm

    Come over at 5 or so. Should be a nice night. Stella too???!!!!!

  7. April 17, 2010 1:52 pm

    Well as a non-violent, RI Native Red Sox fan I sorta liked the idea you bought a “B” thinking B = Baseball (so Sesame Street)!! LOVE IT.

    I did a wig the third time…I had a brand new baby and thought maybe it would keep pitiful stares at bay. I had always wanted long hair and well just never had that chance after the first two times and the third being so close together so I bought a looooooooooong wig. My mom braided it for me..I thought I was the shitz.

    Went out that night, to a movie, felt somewhat “sexy” and then the fight broke out. Two guys in the theatre, rolling up the aisle..getting closer…was I worried about being killed…oh no just that my wig might be pulled off…so I hung on tight…then went back to BB hats and au’ natural…

    If we can’t laugh about it…well then you know the ending to that sentence.

    Hurray for you living each day and visiting friends and keeping perspective…I wish you lived closer..

    jen

  8. April 17, 2010 1:54 pm

    Wish I knew how to put a cute little picture near my post….

    • April 17, 2010 4:47 pm

      Who needs a cute picture when you’ve got such a cute face?!

      • Anonymous permalink
        April 18, 2010 7:01 pm

        Oh look a picture….with my daughter photo bombing me how precious LOL

  9. LINDA permalink
    April 17, 2010 2:46 pm

    I came to your blog from byebyepie. I just wanted to say I love your attitude. I have fallopian tube cancer (stage 1, margins 3, whatever that means) and had my first chemo a week ago. I stil have my hair for another week or so, they tell me, and I think I will be a scarf or hat person. I’m used to being stared at because we are a very conspicuous family of three adopted Chinese children and two old parents, but I hope I handle stares from the combination of bald AND conspicuous with as much aplomb as you do.
    Hang in there.

  10. April 17, 2010 2:59 pm

    Sorry to hear you’re having a difficult time. Glad to hear you’re hiring someone to do the housecleaning. Do you know about http://www.cleaningforareason.org/ They’ll clean for cancer patients at no charge. I’ve heard they’re so busy it’s difficult to get through and they may not service your area, but you might try anyway. I am a big fan of the baseball type caps. Plain.

  11. April 17, 2010 4:46 pm

    What would I do without each of you? Thank you for all of your comments. Hugs from the non-hugger!

  12. April 17, 2010 5:15 pm

    Kathy, I’d like to send you a hat, if that’s okay with you. I got it today at Ellis Island. You can email me at oldewoman at gmail.com to tell me where to send it, or if you’re already drowning in hats, well, that’s good because you have lots of hats.

    Rosanne

Leave a Reply

