Skip to content

Raising Money to Fight Against My Bald Head

April 17, 2010

We just got home from Floweer and Mr. Floweer’s house. They invited Stella Mirra, Retrieved Golden, over for a playdate with their goggie, Ellie Myrtle. Oh, and we were invited for dinner. But mostly I think they wanted somebody to come over and play with  Ellie Myrtle, the dog with no tail.

Stella Mirra, Retrieved Golden, is conked out on the floor, behind me. And I’m about to conk out myself. I am tired. But it is a great tired.

Thank you  Floweer, for dinner & beer & oh! that pie! You and Mr. Floweer are awesome!

Personal note: pumpkins and Christmas trees. I’m just sayin’.

The Big Nugget and I have hardly been home today. Well, not since I finally rolled out of bed at 10 a.m.

This afternoon we went to my niece, Jenna’s, hockey game way up in the northern suburbs. The Stick It To Cancer hockey tournament. I don’t think I’ve been to a hockey game since I saw the Minnesota North Stars back in 1986-ish. Actually, I think it was 1980-ish. Jenna’s team didn’t win but it was alot of fun to attend. And the team did a group wave to me, from across the ice, right before the game began. Right when I was swapping my baseball cap for a knit hat (it was cold in there). I think I probably frightened the heck out of the team of 20-something- (and Jenna at 30) -year olds with my bald noggin’. But I just smiled and waved back. Whaddya gonna do. I’m bald and they were playing hockey to raise money to fight against my bald head.

The Big Nugget and I took side roads the whole way home, and hit downtown Minneapolis shortly after the Minnesota Twins’ game finished in the new Target Field. B is for baseball! Everyone looked so happy, I can’t wait to see a game in the new park. And have a Murray’s (haven’t eaten there since I was 22  years old!) steak sandwich. And some brats from Kramarczuk’s. (Which I can spell from memory, thank you very  much. Haven’t eaten there since last summer!) I also might watch part of the game but mostly I like baseball for the food. And Target field has alot of great food.

We got home in time to fetch Stella for her playdate. It’s been a long, but really fun day.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 10:59 pm

    Faboo fun day!

  2. April 17, 2010 11:37 pm

    Which knit hat did you wear?! Was it the eggplant? Was it? No wonder you scared the hockey team! 😉

    I’m so glad you had wonderful pie with the Floweers! There’s not much pie can’t make better. 🙂

  3. April 18, 2010 8:00 am

    Glad you got out and did something fun.

  4. April 18, 2010 3:09 pm

    have you ever used moleskin to make shoes more comfortable? maybe the same principle would work for hats. just put a little strip on the seams where it touches your scalp. it might help, i dunno.

    have you tried the marshallow thing yet?

    have a great day!

    • April 18, 2010 4:00 pm

      Actually, my baseball caps are quite comfy! Hurray!

      I haven’t tried the marshmallow thing yet. Maybe this round.

  5. Jenna permalink
    April 22, 2010 4:43 pm

    I’m glad that you came to my game. We won on Sunday 8-1 so we made up for it!

  6. June 9, 2010 12:48 pm

    thenk you my firend

Leave a Reply

