Skip to content

Baby Squoshing on a Sunny Sunday

April 18, 2010

Another good day. The Big Nugget and I hit the road to visit my niece, who I haven’t seen since she had her tiny baby (almost a month ago) and then went and almost died on me. (Does that sound a bit egocentric? She almost died on her husband and other children, too. But things are all about me – and my niece) I didn’t mention it because it was just too much for me to write about. I love her so  much and she cared the poop out of me.

She’s been back in the hospital, since having the baby, a couple of times. The baby’s doing fine and my niece seems to be headed in the same direction. The original plan had been that she was going to deliver her baby and then they were going to come down and visit me before anyone else saw the baby (what with our matching weak immune systems) But then she went and had complications, having to have two surgeries, depleting the Twin Cities metro area blood bank, and totally dissed me!

The combination of her finally being home, relatively fever-free, and my having a good few days; we hit the road so I could squosh my great-nephew. It’s a beautiful day, perfect for a drive and some baby-squoshing.

After we visited for a short period of time (don’t overstay  your welcome!) we headed for home, but stopped to visit Thing 1, who is living somewhere else for a few months (sorry, no details here). He’s doing very well and we kept our visit short because when we got there, he was having fun with his peers. And that’s way more important than hanging out with his fogey parents.

It’s so nice to be feeling good for a bit. I’m not looking forward to Tuesday and the days to follow. Had I not had a week of antibiotics this round, and gotten sick to my stomach and kind of weak, I might have been feeling better – longer. So keep your fingers crossed that round 3 of chemo goes smoother than round 2. No polka-dotted head for me!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Paula permalink
    April 18, 2010 4:54 pm

    The nerve of your niece! Glad everyone is ok!

  2. April 18, 2010 4:58 pm

    crossing fingers, toes, eyes, and anything I need to cross keep you feeling better. I am very happy to hear your niece and nephew are great and doing well. hugs – M

  3. Gretchen permalink
    April 18, 2010 5:37 pm

    Hope Tuesday goes well and the aftermath is surprisingly side-effect free this time!

  4. Floweer permalink
    April 18, 2010 8:14 pm

    Thinking of you – like always. Let me know if your chauffer bales on you. I gotta cute red bug for you to ride in!

  5. April 19, 2010 1:46 am

    Oh did you take pics of said sqhoosy baby? Good luck Tuesday my dear!

  6. momonroof permalink
    April 19, 2010 5:09 am

    Girl, you get AROUND!Hope all is well with the Things, it’s like the old-timer once said, best advice on raisin’ children- don’t plant ’em too deep! ha ha! I have no idea what that means, but it always cracks me up. Love you girl, hey, I sent you an email about hats… I couldn’t sleep…

  7. April 19, 2010 11:06 pm

    You’re doing what you need to do to get and stay well. The cure feels worse than the disease…at least at this stage…I feel worse than I ever have…but more women than ever survive breast cancer because of these chemicals.

Leave a Reply

