Skip to content

Vampire Bandwagon

April 19, 2010

Oh yeah, forgot to tell you – I’m starting to read Twilight. Finally. I was against it. I’ve only read the first Harry Potter book. I’m stubborn like that. But my niece (Jenna, the hockey player) told me that she, too, had refused to read the books but a friend talked her into it and now she’s gobbling them up and wants me to gobble them up, too.

For Jenna? I will.

Twilight is going to be my chemo buddy. Well, along with the husband – The Big Nugget.

In other news that’s way too much information for you guys, yet I insist on writing it: Linda suggested MiraLax (and a nearby bathroom) so when I get home tomorrow, I’m going to start taking it and see if that can solve The Cancer’s meanest side effect – poop issues.

Last time I drank coffee, even if my stomach didn’t feel right. And that seemed to help. But not enough. (Did I mention that I only had nausea one time? And that the Prilosec helped me suffer no heartburn? Even with the coffee?) So this time, I’m going to see what I can do to avoid the poop side effect.

You poor, gentle readers. But I do this for myself and the other cancer peoples who read my blog. Anything I can do to help my boatmates.

New oncology office tomorrow! (Because they got a new office, not because I’m switching oncologists. I couldn’t do that. I love my oncologist.) Here’s hoping for more privacy in the infusion room. I am not there to entertain people’s friends and family members! 7 additional chairs – hopefully that means short waiting time! Unfortunately, it’s no longer connected, via tunnel, to the McDonald’s. But that’s okay, I was thinking about sending the Big Nugget over to the Jasmine Deli for a banh mi sandwich anyway. Chemo + Thai Food = Hurray! Well, except the part where I lose flavor. But I’m hoping I won’t lose flavor 2 hours into my drip. Fingers crossed!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. poolagirl permalink
    April 19, 2010 10:23 pm

    Fingers crossed for flavor! YESSSS for flavor!

  2. April 19, 2010 10:24 pm

    I actually really liked those damn Twilight books! Sometimes you do just want to tell the heroine to shut up as she does tend to go on and on about her teenage vampire angst, but honest to God, I couldn’t put those damn books down!!!!

  3. April 19, 2010 10:40 pm

    The first Twilight was filmed in my teeny tiny itty bitty town, there’s a bit of pride there:)

  4. April 20, 2010 7:21 am

    I can’t wait to read your review of the Twilight books! I read (devoured) the first book. The 2nd book…meh. I read about 1/2 of it and then skipped to the end. Too much drama and angst. I have enough drama and angst in my daily life. ;o) When I found myself getting upset/anxious about characters in the book…I let it go. I never did read the 3rd or 4th books and made Shelby tell me what happened. BTW, she still thinks they’re some of the best books EVER.

    P.S. My fingers are crossed that #3 chemo will be the easiest yet! {{HUGS}}

  5. Barb permalink
    April 20, 2010 7:25 am

    Sending best thoughts and vibes for Chemo #3. Enjoy Twilight…I did (guilty pleasure)!

  6. April 20, 2010 8:05 am

    As a matter of fact, the Harry Potter books would be great for a chemo day. What happened to me, unfortunately, was that I couldn’t concentrate too well and, of all things, I was having trouble seeing anything but very large type. My son used to bring a good crossword puzzle and read me the clues; we both like crosswords.

    Strangely enough, after a while I found myself talking to the other patients and their companions, especially the ones on the same schedule. And we joked about things like having only a layer of transparent fuzz on our heads or what we could eat… I figure, if a woman like me, basically shy, could do it, you will too.

  7. April 20, 2010 8:57 am

    HUGS!

  8. April 20, 2010 9:23 am

    As you know I LOOOOOVED Twilight, but you know what-you ought to do the Harry Potter books too. Swear to god I was just like you-read the first one and was all “meh.” But I read the second one and got more interested and by the time I got to number three I was totally HOOKED and about cried when the last one was over.

    Also, I read The Host by Stephenie Meyer and I really enjoyed that one too. I thought it was better than any of the Twilight books. No vampires either.

    Also I swear to GOD if I have to have chemo and there’s a big giant group of people partying it up in there with their “positive attitudes” and “support” I will burn the place down.

    • April 20, 2010 1:22 pm

      That damn chemo partying bitch had the place filled up AGAIN! Thankfully, with the new oncology office, we’ve got separate sections and made sure to not sit in the same one. Unfortunately, prior to going into the infusion room – she and her husband sat on one side of us in the waiting room, and her mother sat on the other side of us…and she proceeded to talk over us. Thankfully, her mother had the good sense to say “we’ll talk about it later.” I want to smack her upside of the damn head!

      I LOVE the Twilight book and can’t wait to read them all. And then I’ll move onto the Harry Potter books and then pick up The Host.

  9. Lori in Houston permalink
    April 20, 2010 10:07 am

    You know, I only decided to read the Twilight books after Plain-Jane said she liked them. I was dead set against but figured that if Jane liked them, well, they were worth a shot. I got totally sucked in. I’m now curious to see what you think.

    P.S. I may hardly every comment but you’re often in my thoughts.

  10. April 20, 2010 11:06 am

    I can’t talk myself into reading anything “vampire”…it just seems so dumb. Okay, I know your readers will want to kill me, but there I said it.

    Hope the treatments go easy on you.

    • April 20, 2010 1:18 pm

      That’s what I said. But now, almost halfway through the book – give me more!!

  11. LINDA permalink
    April 20, 2010 12:25 pm

    My sister suggested I prepare for the poop issue by taking stool softeners two days in advance of the chemo. It worked for me. When I mentioned it to the nurse at my chemo session, though, she cautioned that sometimes chemo can have the opposite effect and that stool softeners might make it worse, and the last thing your body needs is dehydration from diarrhea. Sorry, probably tmi.
    Good luck!
    Linda

  12. Dawn permalink
    April 20, 2010 9:10 pm

    Twilight books are good reading When you’re done, head on over to Stephaniemeyer.com and look for Midnight Sun. It’s the first book (Twilight) from Edward’s point of view, unfinished as the author got PO’d when it got leaked on the internet. You’ll still like it, nonetheless, and it will leave you wanting more.

    Something else for you to read, which I’m enjoying every bit as much as the Twilight series — the Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Good stuff, and you should give it a read as well.

  13. yaketyyak permalink
    April 21, 2010 10:15 am

    I read the Twilight books, but I’m not proud of it. :/

Leave a Reply

