Skip to content

Flavorless

April 21, 2010

By the end of the day, my tastebuds quit. Hopefully they’ll be back to work by Friday. Nothing special happening on Friday. I just think that’s about as long as I can take things tasting weird before I go mad.

Slacker tastebuds. I should test them and make a Red Velvet Cake. Or maybe I shouldn’t do that because it might put me off from Red Velvet Cake for the rest of my life and what kind of life would that be? Decisions are so hard to make these days.

The Big Nugget took me to a movie late in the afternoon yesterday. Kick Ass. You can skip it, if you want to. I was just happy to be out, like a real person. And the salt in the popcorn had flavor. I can taste salt. Which is why I’ll probably go for a McDonald’s cheeseburger, with extra pickles, for lunch today. There’s your salt.

Although I should reconsider that and have a bowl of my little sis-in-law’s garlic shrimp pasta. Now that’s got flavor that I think will break through the striking tastebuds.

And for some reason, applesauce tastes normal. What’s up with that?

I can feel the neuropathy coming on. My hands and feet are itchy to tingly. The pain should start some time soon. Not happy about that. I’m also not happy with the fact that I can no longer wire-link jewelry because it makes my right arm’s nerves flare up. Let’s hope that will go away soon. Stupid cancer in my lymph node. Hate.

Good news is – so far, no nausea! No nausea = no anti-nausea meds. No anti-nausea meds = no additional poop issues!

Oh. I suppose you thought  you were going to get away without any reference to poop in this entry.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 11:52 am

    Is it Taxotere you’re taking? If so, I kept my hands and feet in ice during the infusion and managed to avoid finger and toe problems. I did have an amazingly sore left heel due to nerve inflamation after each Taxotere infusion.

    My oncologist messed up my after-chemo meds on four of my six infusions. First infusion she accidentally doubled my six doses of steroids and on all 3 taxotere she told me to take 12 doses of Zophran. At Taxotere #3 I declared to the nurse that I was planning to rebel and skip Zophran. She was flabbergasted that I was prescribed Zophran at all. I skipped it and my recovery was about 500times better than the previous 2 taxotere nightmares!

    Ack.

    Hope you find your tastebuds soon. I didn;t have that symptom but am 3 weeks out from my last chemo and still waiting for my eyes to re-learn to hold focus.

    • April 22, 2010 2:17 am

      I stopped taking all anti-nausea meds too even with the FEC. The side effects were worse than the nausea, I thought.

      • April 22, 2010 8:03 am

        It’s so nice that I just haven’t had any nausea with this round and just the one time the last time!

  2. April 21, 2010 12:07 pm

    When my son orders fries, he puts a LOT of pepper into the ketchup before he starts dunking. That may break through the taste barrier. Alternatively, my U.D.’s GF carries Tabasco with him when he goes out — just in case they don’t have it at the restaurant. Depending on how hot you like your food, those may help.

    • April 22, 2010 2:04 am

      Be careful with spicy. Remember, the chemo destroys the digestive tract lining.

  3. Marcia permalink
    April 21, 2010 12:25 pm

    Just sending good thoughts

  4. April 21, 2010 1:46 pm

    May your taste buds start budding and your nerves behave and the pain will stay away! ❤ u KLo!

  5. Floweer permalink
    April 21, 2010 5:28 pm

    Hang in there. Glad this round is a bit better – you know what I mean. You continue to be my hero. And Scott too – but don;t tell him – cause it will go to his little bald head. 🙂

  6. April 21, 2010 8:22 pm

    Would you believe that I had red velvet cake for the first time in my life last week? And you know what, it was pretty damn good!
    I firmly believe a McDonald’s cheeseburger cures all ills!

  7. April 21, 2010 8:46 pm

    I think you should just go for whatever you feel like eating or think you might taste. Besides, calories dont count with cancer. At least thats what I heard. 😉

  8. April 21, 2010 10:57 pm

    Oh, poop!

  9. April 22, 2010 2:01 am

    NO nausea???? I am humbled by your good fortune. Of course, all chemos are different, all people respond to chemos differently. I have had LESS nausea from the Taxotere (compared with FEC), but still feel it. I’m so tired of all this. How about you? I think I’ll teach myself how to make a quilt or something PRODUCTive. But then again, I have no energy. I hope your arm goes back to normal. I love your jewelry.

    • April 22, 2010 8:05 am

      It must be the chemo I’m on. Maybe that first time around I was so scared, I made myself sick! Also – taking a Prilosec every morning keeps the heartburn away. And I think it was more heartburn than nausea. Today my goal is to string one necklace. I can string jewelry still (hallelujah!) I hope you can find something to do that will give you some fun focus. This healing goes so slowly! xox

Leave a Reply

