Skip to content

Peace Garden

April 27, 2010

Before my entry begins, I want to say thank you for all of your comments. They all lifted me up. The same goes for the phone calls I’ve received recently. Not that I’ve returned any – I’m in need of going inside right now – but know that I appreciate them and I’ll be willing to share more telephone talk energy when I’ve got it. Right now, I’m reserving energy. But hey, friends, I always love e-mail!

***

I was still weak yesterday. But I’d had enough of my damn bed and that damn couch and that stupid t.v. and our damn house.

So I did what a regular person, who had a hankering for Chinese food would do, and called one of my favorite Chinese restaurants and ordered myself some take-out. At first I couldn’t remember the name of my favorite Chinese restaurant (that’s been a favorite of mine for about 20 years or so) Hello? Chemo brain? Help! The memory came back, I made the phone call and then drove over to get it.

This was part of my plan. Force myself out of the house and into the city for some Chinese. The other part was to take the food and drive into Minneapolis and sit near the Lake Harriet Rose Garden and have my lunch.

I love the Lake Harriet Rose Garden. The roses in this entry are photos I took over 5 years ago when I took a walk through the garden on a summer day, right after they’d watered the roses. Unfortunately, I didn’t save the photos in high quality so can’t do much with them. But still – I love that place.

It’s too early for roses in Minneapolis, but across the street from the rose garden is the Minneapolis Peace Garden. A Japanese garden full of weeping willows, pines, rocks, fountains, and walking trails.

I could only walk for a bit because I really was feeling weak, and quite off-balance. So I walked a little, sat on a bench, walked a little more, sat on another bench. My right underarm started to swell up so I knew it was time for me to head in the direction of home. After I stopped at the Great Harvest Bakery for some bread.

By the time I got home, I was exhausted. But my spirits had lifted and I  knew it was exactly what I needed. As the evening progressed, I got more tired and a little concerned that I’d overdone it, but by this morning, I’d woken up early and for the first time in a long time, drove Thing 2 to school.

I’ll be going back soon and often.

I’ve been told that I’m supposed to walk. That it will make the chemo go “easier” (if that’s possible) But walking makes my arm swell up and more uncomfortable. Instead I intend to take very leisurely strolls near our city’s lakes.

It was so nice to feel better and spend time thinking positive thoughts. The Big Nugget and I talk about moving back into the city (even though we’re only a 10 minute drive away). When you spend some healing time in the city, the urge to move there gets so much stronger. Our youngest will be graduating in June and it’s probably time for us to start heading in that direction. Not soon, we’ve got alot to do to our house to get it ready to sell – but it’s coming.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Claudia permalink
    April 27, 2010 9:20 am

    Hey you!!

    Missed your entry yesterday — we were in the studio til 6 in the morning Sunday night and I slept a lot of the day Monday — but I was thinking that you hadn’t posted in a few days and I was hoping you were about ready to emerge again!

    I just googled the Peace Garden. What a beautiful place for healing. You’ve got great instincts on where to go and what to do for yourself. xoxo

    Sending love from the big apple. Don’t forget, when you’re talking about moving, that you also had that idea about moving to NYC!~~~ We’re waiting!!!!!! (hugs to you and the bigger and smaller nuggets)

  2. April 27, 2010 9:20 am

    How wonderful — to have my favorite flower in a park with my name! Now I know the good thoughts we all send are arriving.

  3. April 27, 2010 9:45 am

    Those are exquisite photos! Just beautiful.

    I’m glad the garden lifted your spirits. I can’t believe I’ve never been to the Rose Garden. I plan on going this year, thanks to you.

  4. poolagirl permalink
    April 27, 2010 10:07 am

    Thinking of you as you heal and get stronger. Blessings.

  5. Barb permalink
    April 27, 2010 11:30 am

    Looks like that’s a great place to “find the quiet”.

  6. Niki Hawkins permalink
    April 27, 2010 11:43 am

    What a beautiful place to spend time. I am reading every day. You are going to be so kick-ass before you know it.

  7. April 27, 2010 2:02 pm

    Wow, what a lovely place to find some healing vibes. I bet you’re excited about the roses blooming soon. There’s something blooming near my front door, and I can smell the lovely scent of whatever it is every time I leave or come home. Now I’ll be thinking of you visiting the peace garden and the rose garden, and getting stronger each time, every time I smell those blooms. Sending you lots and lots of love.

  8. April 27, 2010 8:55 pm

    If I lived closer, I’d walk with you in that garden anytime you wanted company. And I’d talk when you wanted to chat and I’d shut the fuck up when you wanted quiet. Take care of yourself and you’re a sweetie for taking your mom out! Whoopee!

  9. Ali permalink
    April 28, 2010 10:28 am

    I love that rose garden! It always has been a favorite of mine, ever since I was a little girl. My dad always ran the Twin Cities Marathon, and we would sit by the rose garden waiting for him to pass. Just like him finishing countless marathons, you will finish the blasted chemo and kick the cancer smack on its butt!

Leave a Reply

