Skip to content

Good Things

May 3, 2010

Stupid cancer. It’s such a downer, isn’t it?

I decided to do a couple of things to lift myself up:

  • I had a representative from Molly Maid come over and give me an estimate for every-other-week housecleaning. They start this week.
  • I ordered a couple to Tai Chi DVDs so I can actually perform some of that alternative therapy I’ve been hearing about (we studied it in class…Hi Susan!)

And you know how when you start to feel more positively about things, things just start to follow in the same direction (why is it that my Catholic upbringing is warning me that I’m about to jinx myself?)…

My youngest son came out of his room and said, “I scheduled my driving test, would you do a favor for me and call the behind-the-wheel teacher for me and set up my last appointment with her?” (Lordy, people, I’ve been hoping at least one of my kids would get their license for YEARS now)

He came out later and said, “I’ve been talking to a couple of people and I think I want to go to *4 year college*.” Some of you may remember how we took the kids on a college tour vacation a few years ago? And all they wanted to do was go to the community college in our city – which is fine – but really, both of us having gone away to college (and getting away from our parents) was one of the best things we could have done for ourselves. It’s a wonder I didn’t scream with excitement.

The Big Nugget immediately got on the computer and got our youngest signed up for the ACT in June – while I got online to find out how late he could register for college. Thank you, state university, for pretty  much allowing kids to register until the day before school starts.

Excited much? Fingers crossed? Holding my breathe (until the Tai Chi DVD gets here)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 10:18 am

    Oh that makes me happy to have positive things happening to you! You deserve them forcryingoutloud!

  2. May 3, 2010 10:49 am

    Just when you think they’ll never grow up…they do! Hooray!

  3. May 3, 2010 11:24 am

    Great news about Molly Maid. I’m all for hiring housekeepers! ANY time! Just can’t seem to find any around here. Seriously. They’re all too busy to bother with the two hours every two weeks we’d need at my house.
    Looking forward to hearing how you like the t’ai chi. I took a weekend workshop once and quite liked it. Didn’t keep it up though and now don’t remember any of the moves, really.
    It’s true about the positive thinking begetting positive things happening.
    Wish my son would start taking an interest in some post-secondary education. He graduates from Grade 12 next month and I’m sure all he’s thinking of is unlimited time to play on his x-box. NOT! I’ve told him if he doesn’t take classes or get a job, I’m putting him to work as a farmer’s marketer. He may never make a cent doing it, as he moves so damn slow it’s hardly believable, but at least it will keep him busy and he’s a great baker.

  4. May 3, 2010 11:48 am

    How was the MM estimate? I toy with the idea of hiring out cleaning but am afraid we could never afford it. However, there are weeks I put it off because I just can’t do one more thing and it would be worth any amount to have a clean home.

  5. Su Chick permalink
    May 3, 2010 6:50 pm

    How about massage — it boosts your immune system. Hey, I’ll even treat you to a massage by my massage therapist.

  6. Leslie permalink
    May 3, 2010 8:49 pm

    Yay!
    Glad to hear things are going your way!
    And sending along wishes for many more things to go your way …

  7. Diane B permalink
    May 4, 2010 12:05 am

    I heard that women with breast cancer could have their homes cleaned once a month at no cost. Maybe that would work for you? Good luck with everything. I’ve read your blog since Ring (God’s dog) was a pup and I’d hate for anything to happen to you!

    • May 4, 2010 9:44 am

      Diane – there is an organization that cleans homes of women with breast cancer. But it’s really backlogged and I’d rather we didn’t use it, seeing as how we can pay for it, and leave my spot open for the women who can’t work because of their cancer. I can’t work because I’m just so lazy. ;0)

  8. May 4, 2010 9:57 am

    When I was pregnant and on bedrest, I paid people to come clean, even though we really couldn’t afford it. It was the best money I ever spent. When the house is clean, you can relax and not worry. When it’s a mess, it’s all I can think about. I’m really glad you’re doing that for yourself. And yay for teenagers with drivers licenses! I never thought I would love that as much as I do.

  9. May 4, 2010 11:53 am

    Good for you having the maid service. You have other things to do than clean house.

    My son wants to go to culinary school. I figure, why not, go for it. Note, we have not applied for it yet – “we” aren’t sure on our path of life yet. Daughter 1 graduates this year and already headed to LSU. Got a while for #3.

    I love that all my kids have a drivers license. I am no longer the taxi!

    • May 4, 2010 3:57 pm

      I dream of my kids going to culinary school. And being drawn to the pastry arts! 😉

  10. yaketyyak permalink
    May 5, 2010 5:03 pm

    Hurray for good things!

Leave a Reply

