Skip to content

So. That Didn’t Work

May 6, 2010

You know who’s typing, using both hands? I am – that’s who!

I tore that bandage crap off about an hour ago. You see, the white stuff that was wrapped around my fingers? It kept creeping up and off my fingers. I  kept pushing it back on but it kept working it’s way off. Eventually, it got snagged on something and totally came unwrapped on my middle finger. Which looked to be the size of a gigantic middle finger. So I freaked out and unwrapped it all. My middle finger, index finger and thumb were huge. And they hurt. And I couldn’t bend them.

Now, an hour later, the swelling has gone down a bit and I can bend them. There’s got to be a better way to wrap my fingers. That just doesn’t seem right to get the arm all compressed and the fingers swollen.

I went to Walgreen’s today to find the wraps the physical therapist used on me, seeing as how I only get the first set for free and have to buy the rest myself. Which will be impossible, seeing as how Walgreen’s doesn’t carry them. The only one they had was that crappy gauze that went around my fingers. The stuff that came off and allowed my fingers to swell.

Seriously? Am I the first person to ever have lymphedema in an arm – and working finger wrappings have not been invented yet?

What the hell.

I know this isn’t rare.

If a man had breast cancer to the amount that women do, and suffered lymphedema after having lymphnodes removed, there’d probably be better stuff to wrap fingers, a hand, and an arm in.

Until tomorrow, I think I’ll do stuff with my right hand that I can’t do once it’s wrapped up again. Like, eat a sandwich. Brush my teeth. Wash my hands. It doesn’t make it easier, what with me being right handed.

I hate my life right now. But at this exact moment, I’m waving at you with my right hand.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2010 5:46 pm

    Ya what would happen if a man had breast cancer and his testicles got huge and he got elephant balls, there has to be some sort of fix for that. And you know it would be fixed ASAP.

    know what I mean?

  2. May 6, 2010 6:33 pm

    I read Toddler Planet a lot – it’s written by a gal fighting cancer for the second or third time (I forget which – blame the pregnancy brain) since 2007 – and she’s battled lymphedema in the past. Check her out; you might find something there that can help you with your lymphedema. It seems to me like I read something there about a lymphedema sleeve, but I can’t find the post I was thinking of, so maybe it was all just a pipe dream.

    Anyway, I hope you kick cancer’s ass because I really love your blog. The snark just makes my day.

  3. May 6, 2010 6:47 pm

    So sorry you’re having to deal with all this crap. I know there is a sleeve for flying, but don’t know that it would solve your finger problem. Wonder if that stretchy flesh colored wrap would work? (When I was getting chemo they used it instead of tape to hold my IV)

    Hope you find something that works.

  4. Suzi permalink
    May 6, 2010 7:11 pm

    Give cancer the old double barrel now that your left AND right middle fingers are free!

  5. goatbarnwitch permalink
    May 6, 2010 8:15 pm

    Geeze, what crappy crap….
    Check out a medical/surgical supply place for the right kind of wrap. Chain drug stores don’t carry much that is useful beyond band-aids and snot rags. My friend uses a sleeve that is hell to get on but it seems to do the job but your therapist should know what is right for your situation…but maybe not so much where to get the supplies. In the meantime go with the double barreled middle fingered salute to that damned cancer.

  6. capitolady permalink
    May 7, 2010 5:05 am

    They have some sort of glove thingy for carpl tunnel that gets all the way to the fingers that would work for wrist part, but can’t help much from there. Sorry.

    I like the comment about men getting it… funny when men started to get carpl tunnel all kinds of new goodies were out. Amazing.

    Sending some more healing thoughts to those damn fingers, and curse you CANCER Leaver her ALONE!!!

  7. May 7, 2010 8:13 am

    You would think that with everything else you have going on you wouldn’t have to have a swollen hand/arm.

    If men got bc to the extent women get it there would be a definite cure by now.

  8. Gretchen permalink
    May 7, 2010 8:24 am

    I hope your therapist has a better idea for the fingers, or maybe after this first deal you won’t need to wrap the fingers. If not, and this might be way off base, I’m wondering if vetwrap would work. It’s a stretchy fabric (?) wrap that sticks to itself and not to skin or hair. It’s not gauze, not really elastic. It comes in fun colors. I think it’s kind of breathable. Let me know if it sounds interesting but you don’t know what the heck I’m talking about and I could send you a roll.

  9. Lori in Houston permalink
    May 7, 2010 8:51 am

    Just a shot in the dark – but what about tight gloves? Of course, now it’s spring and you might not be able to find them …

  10. Lori in Houston permalink
    May 7, 2010 8:54 am

    Actually, there are such things as lymphedema (compression) gloves (just Google) but, wow, are they pricey! It might be worth it though simply for ease of use as you could take them on and off when necessary to do things like type!

Leave a Reply

