Skip to content

My Inner Lymphediva

May 7, 2010

I’ve been researching lymphedema products on-line and printed off a few things to take to the physical therapist this morning (Cathe – aren’t you glad I switched clinics?)

These aren’t custom-sized like I think I’d eventually end up with – but they’ve got to be better than the gauze and the wraps. I hope. Puffy fingers crossed.

I really want to get the compression sleeves that are pretty. Lymphedivas (click here to take a quick look at them…the photos are copyrighted, which is stupid because, duh? free advertising here at kitschinlogic? let me right click your photo!)

They are a bit pricey.  But definitely worth it if I can wear them. Because really? The wrap shit? It isn’t working for me. Not with the fingers that had been wrapped by the professional. Imagine what will happen when I take over the wrapping. They’ll fall right off. But hey, the fingernails will still be on them!

***

My new cleaning people came yesterday.  They did a “deep cleaning” which took 3 hours. Every other week they’ll do a “regular” cleaning that will probably take half as much.

I have to tell you. I think I’m in love with them. What they did to my house is fantastic. And there’s no guilt with having my older sister kill herself, cleaning my house.

Speaking of my sister. She’s having a garage sale today and tomorrow. I brought over a bunch of stuff last night. Alot of fiestaware. If it doesn’t sell, do you guys want me to put it up at kitschinart? Let me know. I’ve marked it at half of retail price. Don’t worry. I’m not giving up the fiestaware, just the colors I don’t want: evergreen, gray, periwinkle, cinnabar, cobalt…and lots of stuff I have too much of.  Lordy, I have way too much fiestaware.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 9:52 am

    I’m not a fiestaware person anyhow, but I’ve never seen the appeal of blue dishes. Blue isn’t a natural color for food (don’t tell me about those blue popsicles), and it doesn’t add appeal to food. I can see the cinnabar or any green at all — but periwinkle and cobalt are just wrong.

  2. poolagirl permalink
    May 7, 2010 10:11 am

    The sleeves are amazing! I think you will look like QUITE the diva! Go for it!

  3. May 7, 2010 10:49 am

    Whatever the price, it’s worth it. Speaking of both sleeves and housekeepers.

  4. May 7, 2010 12:51 pm

    I may be wrong (and frequently am) but my insurance paid for my sleeve (and donning gloves!) so you might want to check and see if it is covered.

  5. Diane permalink
    May 7, 2010 1:30 pm

    PattyPat said what I was thinking. Fingers are too hard to wrap. There must be compression gloves you can use with those diva sleeves. Also I have to ask. My friend just had a lumpectomy at 11AM and they pushed her out the door and home by 4PM .. That’s just wrong!

  6. Lena permalink
    May 8, 2010 9:58 am

    Wow – those sleeves are really impressive. I can just see a whole new wardrobe for you and you can set a new trend.

  7. Kat permalink
    May 10, 2010 11:39 am

    I would be game to purchase some of your fiesta. I don’t have grey. What all were you going to try to sell?

    • May 10, 2010 3:50 pm

      Tons! Wait until I get past that last chemo and then I’ll start dealing the fiestaware! It’ll be like the show “Weeds”, only a different merchandise! 😉

Leave a Reply

