Skip to content

Typing with Both Hands

May 8, 2010

Look at me! I’m typing with both hands!

However, when I’m done here and have had a shower, I will be rewrapped on the right side.

Wah.

My right pinky is sore. Someone (The Big Nugget) who wrapped my right hand yesterday, didn’t keep the gauze flat like he was suppposed to and the wrinkled gauze gave my skin a pinch. I’m going to try and wrap it myself today. I don’t think I’ll do as good a job at the Big Nugget did, but I know I’ll keep that gauze flat.

He did a good job, though, because my fingers weren’t swollen at all this morning. Unfortunately, he said he can’t remember a thing the PT taught him. Either can I.

I want a glove.

Wah.

***

I wanted to address Cancer Patients and Mouth Sores here. I had one this chemo go-r0und (oh! what will Tueday’s chemo bring?!!!)

This should not remain a little piece of information I accidently stumbled across while reading a blog. (Thank you to the blogger who wrote this. Unfortunately, I can’t remember who it was.)

If you are on chemotherapy and end up with mouth sores. Go to a health food store and pick up a bottle of Aloe Vera Juice. Swish a little through your mouth and spit it out. Your mouth sore will be gone by the next morning!

I’m reporting this to the oncologist on Tuesday. No more messing with that salt+soda+water mix.

***

Time to hit the shower and then mummywrap my hand up again.

Wah.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2010 11:25 am

    Good to know — unless you are allergic to aloe…

  2. Leslie permalink
    May 8, 2010 11:28 am

    You can get aloe vera juice at Trader Joe’s – might be cheaper there than at a health food store.

    Good to hear the swelling is better today – you sound happier, and I am glad.

  3. May 8, 2010 2:55 pm

    did you feeling vaguely michael jackson-ish with just one hand wrapped up?

    should we get you a ball cap with a blonde ponytail and a veil?

  4. Claudia permalink
    May 8, 2010 9:56 pm

    Stopping by to wish you a Happy Mother’s Day! Love to the family….

    xoxo

  5. Ruth from SC permalink
    May 9, 2010 8:01 am

    My niece who was dealing with extreme mouth sores from chemo was told by her dr. to eat canned peaches w/heavy syrup. She said that not only did she enjoy the peaches, but the sores disappeared!! I’m just sayin’……any port in a storm, right? Happy Mothers Day Kathy!

Leave a Reply

