Skip to content

Unwrapped Chemo #4

May 12, 2010

My hand was still wrapped during thost last 2 posts, so they were hard to type and I had to correct alot of errors. Slowly. Stupid, bulky wrap. The gauze catches on paper! I guess I should just sit for the next 3 weeks and watch t.v. and take naps. Lord knows how difficult it is to just go to the bathroom. Never mind the stress I get from trying to eat a damn sandwich.

I’m ordering a glove and sleeve today. I just hope I can get the PT to help me with the measurements because the gloves are $145 and the sleeves are $90 – and I’m not 100% sure they have a 100% return/exchange policy. I just can’t live this way anymore. And I haven’t even hit the bad chemo days. It’s going to get very ugly around here by Friday.

I wanted to tell you about my chemo friend, Ms. Entourage. She only had a couple of people with her and I think I know why. She’s not feeling too well. She is a terrible shade of grey and has been all along.

Seeing as how she participated in the clinical drug trial, she got Adriamycin, also known as “The Red Death” medicine by nurses I know. When the clinical trial nurse was trying to talk me into it, she told me that my side effects might be “slightly elevated“. Which is when, after we got home, The Big Nugget convinced me that I should have no part of slightly elevated. And I agreed, calling the nurse and backing out.

Adriamycin can cause permanent heart damage and is limited in the lifetime dosages that can be administered in a lifetime. I come from a family with a long line of heart trouble. The clinical trial nurse said that didn’t factor in to whether or not I would be accepted for the trial. Red flag? Adriamycin also has very bad side effects, as opposed to the “slightly elevated” side effects clinical trial nurse/car salesman was trying to get me to sign up for.

Hence, The Red Death.

Ms. Entourage, accepting the gift of The Red Death has been very sick at each chemo. Today she was out earlier than I was (you have to stay in longer to receive the extra chemo bag) and she was shuffling and that odd greay. I felt terrible for her. I also noticed that she didn’t get a bag of The Red Death in her mix today. So either she said “no more!” or could no longer qualify for the clinical trial drug due to what, I don’t know.

p.s. I ordered a wig yesterday. Shut it. I am thinking about going out to a few nice restaurants and don’t want to wear a baseball cap or a stupid scarf that makes me look like a pin head with Luke Wilson chubby cheeks. You win.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. dakotagirl permalink
    May 12, 2010 8:50 am

    I’m really hoping the wig is the old Kate Gosselin reverse mullet look. You could ROCK that!!!

  2. May 12, 2010 8:55 am

    I guess I was lucky. I had Adriamycin in round two of chemo. I know that I had to have an electrocardiogram before that round. I didn’t have really bad side effects – either that or chemo is lik child birth – you forget the bad parts!

    I really hate that you are suffering with the lymphodema. So far, I haven’t had a problem after three years, but going through all the surgeries ( that are not related to the C) it is a pain to have to remind everyone not to use the right arm for anything. I’m having the right knee replaced in two weeks, and I am tempted to just write on it not to touch it so I don’t have to be repeating it.

    Sending you all the good thoughts and wishes I can summon up!

    • May 12, 2010 9:03 am

      Thanks Karen! Maybe you should just go ahead and buy one of those lymphadiva sleeves and wear it under your gown for next surgery!

  3. May 12, 2010 9:30 am

    That red stuff sounds like part of what I had in my first half of chemo (two different drugs each session). The skin on my arm used to break out while I was getting it, until one of the nurses began flowing plain saline between bursts. It seems to have worked well enough for me. Scared the hell out of me the first time I went to the bathroom…

  4. Claudia permalink
    May 12, 2010 10:06 am

    Maybe the fact that you’re having trouble this early is a sign that the bad chemo days won’t be so bad. Like the “bad dress rehearsal, good opening night” theory.

    Hugs to you! Sorry to hear that the Entourage gal is having a tough time, too.

    Fuck cancer.

    xoxo

  5. May 12, 2010 8:53 pm

    Yikes. I’m glad you didn’t opt for the Red Death. That sounds like the exact opposite of fun.

    You know what?? Cancer sucks. Still sending hugs.

  6. Connie permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:31 pm

    When you said you were thinking about a wig, I could only think of Samantha on Sex and the City when she was doing chemo. she couldn’t find any realistic wigs she liked so she started wearing all these great crazy bright colored 70’s afro wigs and other great crazy colored wild haristyles. Of course she looked sexy and fantastic and I thought it was a great idea. So like Dakotagirl said “get the Kate Goslin” but make it Purple or lime green.

    Thinking of you!

  7. Stacie permalink
    May 13, 2010 4:39 pm

    I had the appropriately named red death and guess what? It almost killed me, literally. Of course, I can’t complain too much now since here I am still alive 13 years later. But, good call–it is NOT fun and you seem to be doing great without it!

    Sorry about the lymphodema though–that sucks big time. Hope the swelling goes down soon!

Leave a Reply

