Skip to content

The Glove

May 14, 2010

I went to the office for my glove and sleeve yesterday afternoon. It’s a prosthetic’s office. It made me think that I should have gotten a free peg leg.

I totally understand that this could be temporary. I also know that this could be permanent. And I also know that it could be alot worse. As I sat in the PT’s waiting room yesterday morning, I looked around and was reminded of the things I don’t have to deal with. Look at me, all “there but for the grace of god…” when to alot of people, I am their “there but for the grace god…” It’s all relative.

There’s been telephone discussion about me between my PT, the lyphedema doctor and the glove rep. I totally understand why it’s more important for me to wrap while swollen, and use the glove more as a prophylactic. The wrapping really does reduce swelling alot better than the sleeve+, not in the finger area – of course – but my fingers are less swollen than my knuckles and the back of my hand. The wrapping brings it down alot because the compression can be made so much more tight, without making my arm pinch and fall off. A sleeve can only be so tight before it starts to turn the touchpoints bright red.

It’s just that during the sickest of the chemo days, the glove is going to save my sanity. I have got to be comfortable and be able to take care of myself in a way that the wrap won’t allow. If only for a couple of hours a day. And then I can use the glove/sleeve as an option if I want to go out to lunch with friends. It’s impossible to eat with my right hand with the wrap on. Which, by the way, got Campbell’s soup on it while I very carefully tried to open a can yesterday. I was being so careful. Dammit!

I’m feeling mentally better today about it all. Physically, now that the steroids are gone, I’m feeling more physically sick. But that’s the way it goes. If you don’t hear from me until Monday, know that I’m probably fine but just refusing to get out of bed.

Only 2 more times.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 9:09 am

    I don’t want to sound like a cheerleader, but it’s going to probably sound that way. Look at the bright side, as you are, it is almost over. The swelling will probably be gone shortly after you end the chemo. Sending you hugs and strength from one survivor to another.

  2. Gretchen permalink
    May 14, 2010 3:27 pm

    Hope the swelling and the chemo and everything is just gone soon, and you can get back to growing hair and not wrapping your poor arm. Just a few more weeks!

  3. May 14, 2010 7:50 pm

    The light at the end of the tunnel! I see it! Really…I do!

    Hugs and healing wishes. Your honesty and grit are inspiring.

    Always thinking of you.
    Mary

  4. May 14, 2010 11:04 pm

    Just two more times to go! YAY! I hope it goes by quickly.

  5. Claudia permalink
    May 15, 2010 12:24 pm

    Hey you! You will always be your own best advocate, and if you need/want to wear the glove/sleeve than that’s what you should do.

    I think I’ll stay in bed til Monday too, in solidarity!

    xoxo

  6. dan permalink
    May 15, 2010 9:33 pm

    hey will this new glove help you snag foul balls at the best 3a stadium in the nation ya know down her in IOWA

Leave a Reply

