Skip to content

#1 Foam Hand

May 24, 2010

91 degrees with a dewpoint of 68 and I didn’t melt when I went outside!

I’d sat around, waiting for the oncologist’s office to call, until 11:00. I called them and found out that my oncologist and her nurse have the day off. Crap. I wasn’t going to let that stop me, I left a message with the on-call nurse.

Then I got the hell out of here and did a little shopping for some new summer shorts and capris. I think I accidentally gave away last year’s stuff and was left with 2 pair of capris that I have to keep hiking because I’ve lost some weight, plust they are really big in the ass. I hate stretch denim. Hate.

I did some grocery shopping while I was out. When I got home, the phone had been ringing and I heard the final ring. Of course. Isn’t that how it always happens? It was a call from the oncologist’s office. Thankfully the on-call nurse left a detailed message so I was able to call her back right away. She’s now trying to track down the information to see if she can get one of the other oncologists to place the order for my needle biopsy. She said that because of my chemo status, I’ll have to come in to their office first to have my blood counts checked. This has been the low count week. But I haven’t felt tired at all and my blood count seems to bounce back pretty well.

Go blood!

I am no longer afraid of my swollen hand. Now that it’s been tested in the heat and humidity and didn’t blow up to the size of a #1 foam sports hand, I’m going to stop fussing about it. When the chemo’s gone, it’ll probably stop swelling.

The Big Nugget told me that I’m no longer allowed to watch the shows about obese people on TLC because I explained to him about the edema they sometimes get (it’s true! I’ve seen it on the t.v.!) and how it can’t be cut off because the swollen parts are full of veins and arteries and all sorts of important things. I probably shouldn’t have told him that that was how I was envisioning my arm to be.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2010 6:21 pm

    I watched that show last night on TLC too! OMG!

  2. Sue permalink
    May 25, 2010 6:18 am

    Hating the stretch demin also. They fit perfect for about 1/2 hour, then if I don’t have a belt on, I’m constantly pulling them up. Hate!

  3. Jean permalink
    May 25, 2010 12:31 pm

    I like the stretch denim. It makes me feel like I’m getting thinner and thinner as the day goes on.

    Thinking about you alot, Kathy!!!!

  4. May 25, 2010 12:43 pm

    Great. Now I’m going to have to take you, your ‘B’ is for baseball hat, and your foam finger hand to a baseball game and buy you a hot dog.

    😉

Leave a Reply

