Skip to content

Used It

June 1, 2010

It’s been hot and muggy in the Twin Cities lately. My lymphedemarm (new med term by Me!) swells up when I get hot and muggy. Thank goodness for air conditioning.

Unless the air conditioner stops working, which it did some time in the middle of the night on Friday night/Saturday morning.

Crap.

So The Big Nugget told me to call the gas company, to which we pay a monthly fee so that we can call them when things get broken and they come and fix it for no charge (if you call paying $20 per month for 15 years “No Charge”.)

“We’re booking service calls a week out,” the service rep said to me.

“Oh no! I have cancer that’s given me lymphedema in my arm and my arm swells when it’s hot and it’s muggy!” I told the service rep.

“Let me talk to my dispatcher and see what I can do for you,” she said and then put me on hold.

Less than a minute later, she was back: “Somebody will be out today between now (9 am ish) and 8 p.m. Is that okay?”

“Seriously?! That is amazing! Somebody will be here! Thank you!” I replied. I really had no idea that using the cancer card would get me faster service. Which is why I feel guilty and am now worried that because I’ve used my cancer, my cancer is never going to go away.

I never said I was rational, did I?

The service guy came out at around 2 in the afternoon. It was a broken starter, and he had a part on his truck so the a/c was up and running within half an hour.

And then my are swelling went down.

But now my arm is swollen again because it’s getting hot and muggy and I’m waiting to turn on the a/c. I’m waiting for the thunderstorms to pass because I want to keep the windows open as long as I can so that I can hear the storm

I’d pay a swollen arm to hear a good thunderstorm, wouldn’t you?

Chemo #5 is tomorrow (I know, I already told you) so I spent today running around, picking up stuff for Thing 2’s graduation party (June 19th! Now, with bouncy house!) and his birthday (this Saturday, June 5th! Now, with yellow cake?) We already picked up his  birthday/graduation present (he wanted a electric, acoustic guitar) so all I had to do was get some treats. I’ll still be feeling okay on Thursday (love those steroids!) so will probably run out and buy him an outfit,  just because it’s something I want to do.

I also stopped in at Kohl’s and bought myself a couple of shirts and a bunch of spaghetti strap tank tops. Now that I don’t have to wear a bra ever again – HURRAY!!! I still want something to go under thinner shirts. If the shirt is thin enough, you can see my mastectomy lines. Not pretty.

I’ve been thinking more and more about my reconstructive surgery. I know that the surgeon left me extra skin, in case I changed my mind. Which pisses me off because I’m 99.9% sure I’m not going to change my mind. Well, maybe 85% sure. So I’ll have to have that fixed and because I carry so much weight in my torso/back, I’ll have to have some liposuction to make me look less like some sort of freak. But no hurry for the appointment with the plastic surgeon. First I want to lose some weight and see how much of the torso/back fat I can get rid of first before I go in and get it prettied up. And I don’t plan on working on my weight loss much until I’m a few weeks out of chemo (the end of July) because the last thing I want to worry about right now, when it’s difficult to eat certain foods, is fuss about my eating. I’ve maintained my weight since my surgery in February and I think that’s pretty good given the steroids/chemo platter I’ve been served.

I look at Plain Jane’s breast cancer updates and man, do I envy her. I’ve had so much trouble with recovery and those damn lymph nodes being removed have totally fucked me up. Know this, however, my range of motion in my bad arm has moved along very well. I can finally (about a month ago) straighten my arm the whole way out. Did I tell you that I couldn’t straighten that arm because there was a cord in my elbow that was like a stretched rubber band? I thought it would snap! But all of a sudden, that’s not a problem anymore and my physical therapist is working wonders on the other cords that run on the inside of my arm.

But really, it just pissed me off that here I am, 4 months out from surgery (wow!) and I still have trouble with that arm. My left one is fine.

And did I mention that I can’t wait to have the port catheter taken out? It irritates me. Not like it did before but the seatbelt still bumps it and causes it to hurt and I can’t sleep on my left side so well because of the damn think protruding – and I’ve still got the nylon knots sticking out of my skin in three places.

But hey, I’m not complaining. ? I’m just keeping you updated.

Did I mention that I have chemo #5 tomorrow?

And that I don’t plan on getting as sick this time?

I don’t know  how I’m not going to get as sick but that’s what I’ve decided.

Oh, and did I mention that I’m on steroids today and that might be why I have the want to update my blog all of a sudden and why I’ve been able to get so many things taken care of, even with a gimpy arm?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. dakotagirl permalink
    June 1, 2010 2:44 pm

    Bouncy house…..can I come?

  2. June 1, 2010 2:51 pm

    I’ll be expecting you! ;0)

  3. June 1, 2010 2:55 pm

    I heart you. Gimpy arm and all. Positive thoughts headed your way for no chemo sickness this time!!

    Congrats to you, Big Nugget, and Thing 2 for a successful graduation!! And yay for nice man who fixed your A/C. There has to be perks for having cancer. It’s a perk. There will be no repercussion for playing cancer card, because it is a PERK. The universe owes you.

  4. June 1, 2010 3:02 pm

    Those lymph nodes are fuckers. EVERYTHING is worse when you have a bunch of them taken out. I only had 7 taken out (4 on the left and 3 on the right) and my armpits feel like someone burned them with a branding iron and so I know you must feel 100 times worse. 😦

  5. June 1, 2010 4:15 pm

    WOOT! YAY for getting the a/c fixed soonest. And if anyone deserves to hit the front of the line for getting the a/c fixed, it’s you, lady.

    I have to admit, I would want to hear the thunder too, even with a swollen arm. Rigth now we’ve got a bit of thunder rumbling, and I am loving every second of it.

  6. June 1, 2010 4:26 pm

    I’ve been thinking of you this week because I knew you had a chemo session coming up. Could you feel it? Should I think harder?

    You are entitled to use the word cancer to speed people up whenever it’s appropriate; this time it was most definitely appropriate. (I never mentioned it to my temp agency while I was sick; I just asked for a raise afterwards, pointing out that even when I was sick I got all the work done. So then they asked Bosslawyer about my illness, sent me a get well card…and gave me a $3/hour raise.)

  7. Poolie permalink
    June 2, 2010 4:10 am

    I am so glad you went to the front of the repair line. Your comfort is very important.

  8. June 2, 2010 9:52 am

    Oh yes, those bipolar steroids! The upside is cutting the nausea. The down, your body seems to hold on to every bit of the calories in food and they stimulate your appetite. I’m so glad you are aware of whats going on there. I didn’t realize what was going to happen. It didn’t hit me until I was sitting in the waiting room for radiation, and a woman there said she refused chemo because the didn’t want the weight gain. Personally I thought she was nuts! I think I would rather have a weight gain (and I surely did) than not try to kill all those little nasty cells that might have been left in my body.

  9. Barb permalink
    June 2, 2010 11:58 am

    Thinking of you today.

  10. June 2, 2010 2:17 pm

    I’m thinking of you today!

  11. June 2, 2010 8:38 pm

    Still here…reading along. I’m mostly speechless on most day’s. This post reminded me of telling people I was pregnant when I wasn’t. I mean I myswell have taken advantage of my girth….right ? Hmm..probably oh so wrong. I also like to pull out the “I have an infant” as a reason. They both work.

Leave a Reply

