Skip to content

Chemo #5

June 2, 2010

Only 1 more to go!

During the exam with the nurse practitioner today, she found the lump I’d been talking about, which is exactly where I thought it was in the first place, and she said, “It feels flat and as I look at the notes of the radiologist who saw it, it’s more than likely a hematoma. So we’ll set up an appointment for another ultrasound and keep our eyes on it. After you’re done with chemo, if it’s still there, we’ll do a needle biopsy.”

That made me feel better. Ultrasound is set up for June 21st.

AND…the port catheter will be removed on June 25th! Hurray! I thought they’d want to wait longer but what they want to do is get it out before my blood levels drop the next week plus get it out before our insurance restarts on July 1st, thereby avoiding having to pay for it with my deductible. We’ll save that payout for future fun stuff.

Unfortunately, my surgeon who removed my breasteses and put in the port, is out of town during this week so I’m scheduled with another surgeon from her office. This procedure is done in their office and I won’t be put under so I guess it’s much easier than putting it in. Anyone with past experience have anything to offer about their experience?

My chemo buddy today was Floweer. It really is awesome to have someone more talkative than your husband join you for chemo. The talking part of it, anyway. It’s really good to have your non-talkative husband be there for the part with the doctor, or nurse practitioner. Because non-talkative husbands are fantastic listeners who remember what is being said much better than the panicking wife!

After chemo, I took Floweer over to the Jasmine Deli for her first banh mi sandwich. With the look of love expressed on her face and via her mouth, several times, I can see that I brought the Jasmine Deli another happy, loyal customer.

Hey, Floweer? Tell your friend that those Cinnamon Fire Jolly Ranchers are awesome! And thank you so much for being a great chemosabe today!

And now, I will do my best to not get sick this time.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 12:47 am

    yay! and congratulations. don’t know anything about ports…how can you eat after chemo? Just thinking about it makes my tummy tighten. I’m so glad you’ve only got one more! Yippee!

  2. Floweer permalink
    June 3, 2010 7:38 am

    It was an honor my dear. Whatever you need. Can’t wait for Sunday evening – we will create a palate of color in your back yard. FUN! Still drooling over the sandwich and the eggroll. YUM! When can we go again?

  3. Gretchen permalink
    June 3, 2010 8:31 am

    I am hoping this is the chemo where you say, “Huh, I must be getting used to it, this isn’t bad at all!”

  4. June 3, 2010 8:55 am

    Glad there’s only one more to go! Thinking of you.

  5. katie permalink
    June 3, 2010 9:01 am

    Hoooraaay! Only one more to go! And bring on the end of June! Let’s get this all behind you.

    Hope everything turns out normal with the check up on your arm and that it is smooth sailing after that. Been thinking of you so much. Glad to hear you had a fun day with your chemo-buddy and got to share lunch at your favorite spot.

  6. June 3, 2010 10:18 am

    Ok, seriously. It seems like just yesterday, but also a lifetime ago that this whole whirlwind started and now…It’s almost DONE.

    DONE.

    DONE!!!!

    You really should head west and enjoy a summer evening and watch the Bits play soccer.

    We’ll bring you a popsicle…

  7. Sue permalink
    June 3, 2010 12:59 pm

    Woohoo! Five down, one to go!

  8. Anonymous permalink
    June 3, 2010 9:17 pm

    I might freak you out about the port – have someone pre-read this if you need. I had my port removed in the office of the surgeon who placed the port, and it was pain free. He injected some Xylocaine over the site, then made the incision to remove it. All that went fine, he was even alone in the exam room to do this, since it’s simply routine in that office. However, I am a keloid former, one of those people who form abnormal large pick scar formations usually around the trunk and upper torso. This meant that the port had fibrous material – collogen gone wild that wrapped itself around the port. That thing did not want to come out. He tugged and pulled and wrenched, and I was afraid that he would rip out my blood vessels (but he didn’t), and he finally got it free by putting his foot on my shoulder and pulling as hard as he could and ripping it out. I didn’t have any pain, just pressure, concern and fear. He was sweating, pissed and happy to see my hiney leave. I calmly left the office and climbed into my best friends car in front of the office where she had waited for me for a half an hour and completely fell apart. It was so unexpectedly violent and weird and unexpected. True, there was no pain, he removed the device with a minimum of blood and the application of a few sutures and a band aid, but I had been wrestled about and felt that this whole cancer thing justs adds one freak scene after another.

  9. Anonymous permalink
    June 3, 2010 9:19 pm

    Sorry, that was supposed to be “pink scar”.

  10. June 4, 2010 12:25 pm

    Good luck to you. Nice to know it’s almost over.

  11. June 4, 2010 12:59 pm

    Wow! My port was so deep I knew it would have to be removed in the hospital. I was glad to get rid of that thing even if it wasn’t in a place that hurt – unless some nurse I didn’t know was going to try to access that sucker! Then I ran for the hills.

  12. June 4, 2010 4:43 pm

    Congrats! And just wanted to tell you that my sister who had breast cancer is in her first Dragon Boat race tomorrow on the Schuykill river in Philadelphia…See, there is a light at the end of that damn cancer tunnel. Of course being on the Schuykill river might not be that light as it is NOT the cleanest river in the world!! She’s just worried about having to use a porta-potty. 🙂

  13. June 5, 2010 5:55 am

    “Chemosabe.” I just love that!

  14. June 7, 2010 4:24 am

    OHMYGOSH, I don’t blame Anonymous for staying anonymous… KLo, You have such good friends, girl. you know what that says about you…

Leave a Reply

