Skip to content

Floweers for Algernon

June 8, 2010

My youngest just left a plume of cologne behind as he left the house for his last day of high school. Graduation is on Thursday. I’m so very proud of him.

And his tattoo.

I’m doing better today. After learning some possibly devastating family news (that I won’t go into in my blog) at the end of last week, my feet were knocked out from beneath me. I really thought it would be wonderful to mentally check out from this world. But the following people would not let me:

1. The Big Nugget, who has way of just hanging in there. Making no sudden movements.

2. My little brother, who, knowing I was sick, picked me up and took me to my favorite used book store with the invitation of “we’ll leave the minute you need to leave.” I lasted almost 10 minutes. And then he took me to his  house where it was a hubbub of family activity. Just what I needed to keep from falling apart.

3. My little sis-in-law who continues to nurture me through this hell.

4. My sister who always seems to cry harder than I do, making me realize that I must not be too bad if I’m not crying that hard. And also? The food!

5. Barb and Eric (The Floweers) who came over on Sunday night with pizzas and a truck full of flowers. They filled every one of my empty pots and helped patch my broken heart. (pictures later)

Bloomington Garden Center, for all your Floweer needs!!!

6. Judy Beauty who continues to offer invitation after invitation for shopping and adventure – and is willing to drive from one end of the Twin Cities to the other.

7. Best high school friend, Tammy, who keeps calling and calling at the right time.

8. Sandy and Stephanie and rainbow unicorns and lucky coins without cigarette butts.

9. So many more of you, but I really had to give special numbers to these special people because I was as low as low can be (until the next lower comes along, I have lost my faith that things can’t get worse) and they helped lift me back up and put me on my wobbly feet.

Getting out the duct tape to hold myself together,

K-Lo

p.s. If you want to know what my friend, Floweer looks like, check this family portrait out:

(That’s Floweer in the center, front. Isn’t she cute? I don’t hang around with not cute people, people!)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 8:27 am

    My youngest graduated from high school two years ago this week and I remmeber his big sister and I just crying our eyes out at the ceremony. I wish you lots of happy tears this week!

  2. Floweer permalink
    June 8, 2010 8:32 am

    Thanks for not putting a picture of my backside on the blog! I do look better as a cartoon. Good to see you yesterday – and the smile on your face. We are going to find more good times – they are out there. In this together girl!

  3. June 8, 2010 8:35 am

    I’m sorry you’re having a hard time. I hope things get better for you soon.

    That was super nice of Floweer to plant flowers for you; summer flowers make everything prettier.

    Congrats to your son graduating!

  4. June 8, 2010 8:45 am

    One year, when my dad was ill, my brother and sister-in-law came and planted his garden for him. He said it was the best gift he could get. It’s that thing about flowers, y’know.

  5. Sue permalink
    June 8, 2010 10:28 am

    Here’s to family and good friends. Glad you’re doing better today.

  6. June 8, 2010 12:11 pm

    Just remember you are lucky to have family and friends around you with all their love. Whatever it is, they will hold you up.

  7. Barb permalink
    June 8, 2010 1:33 pm

    I always read Floweer’s name as Flowery and now I know why! There’s nothing like seeing gray old pots full of bright flowers. You have some good friends and family.

  8. Rosie permalink
    June 8, 2010 1:46 pm

    What amazing friends and family you have, but then again, you are an amazing woman! How wonderful to have your garden tended, now you can enjoy it every day for months! Whatever problems arise, know that you are very loved. *Hugs*

  9. poolagirl permalink
    June 8, 2010 2:48 pm

    Blessings, lady. Holding you in my heart!

  10. kim birt permalink
    June 9, 2010 12:15 am

    sending you good thoughts… what grand friends and family you have.. that’s what it takes to put you on your feet again… ok you are always in my prayers… and I must put a hug in there too… I know you no likey hugz but I think of you often… STAY STRONG!!! and congrats to thing 2. take care,

  11. yaketyyak permalink
    June 9, 2010 3:19 pm

    It’s totally unfair that anything else bad should be happening in your life. My heart hurts for you.

  12. June 21, 2010 4:03 pm

    It sounds like you have enough STRESS going on without more. That’s what life is like at times though. *sigh* Hope that it all works out. Yay for the last chemo treatment, although I’ve heard that chemo brain does last a while. 😦

Leave a Reply

