Skip to content

Conveniently Expensive

June 15, 2010

I just  bought 4 tickets to the Daniel Tosh concert in November. Do you know who he is? Tosh.0 from Comedy Central? If you haven’t watched his show…watch it. Else we can’t be friends anymore.

So, today there was a pre-sale ticket event. I snatched 4 as quickly as I could then fired off a message to the Big Nugget. Then I left the house and went shoe shopping. Found a pair of shoes. Came home.

To an e-mail from Mr. Nugget saying he’d just bought 4 tickets to the Daniel Tosh concert in November.

And also, an e-mail that had bounced back because I typed the wrong e-mail address when I sent my e-mail to the Nugget.

So we now have 8 tickets to the Daniel Tosh concert in November. Each includes an $11 “convenience” charge. That’s $88 in convenience charges. How convenient for ticketmaster.

My brother and his wife have first dibs on the 4 extra tickets. Oh, how I hope they want to go.

***

FYI about my weight loss.

It isn’t just the chemo that “helped” me to lose the weight, because each round of chemo brought on an initial weight loss due to the tastebud-induced Not Eating Days followed by Eating Days once the tastebuds recovered. Those Eating Days brought my weight back to where it was before the day of chemo.

This round I purposely ate healthier and kept off the weight loss. It’s amazing how your body reacts positively when not given cookies, chips and crackers!

I’m reading “The Flat Belly” diet book that focuses on eating monounsaturated fats (olives, nuts, avocados, dark chocolate, natural peanut butter…) and staying away from the foods that lead you to metabolic syndrome (big belly). I carry my weight in my belly (now that my boobs are gone) and am pre-diabetic and on the verge of high blood pressure. I need to move away from unhealthy because I’ve had it up to where my boobs used to be with the unhealthy.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2010 1:53 am

    I’ve gained weight and a belly from this whole ordeal. And I mostly eat healthy. Okay, today I had some flourless chocolate cake and yesterday some chips and the day before a bag full of cherries…yum…in season and so delicious! Are you done with chemo yet?

  2. June 16, 2010 10:24 am

    That’s great. Anyway you can get those stupid pounds off is great. I am still suffering (well if truth be known – not a lot) with getting those pounds off. Good for you. I hope you know I was really kidding about the reverse chemo diet. I think when I was getting chemo, I figured it was just all over, and now here I sit – over four years out. I think I shouldn’t have been so fatalistic! Keep up ALL the good work.

  3. June 16, 2010 10:25 am

    So glad there’s only one more chemo left. I’m cheering for you!

  4. June 16, 2010 1:23 pm

    Your on my mind with your last chemo and I am rooting for you…. You go girl.

  5. June 16, 2010 7:44 pm

    Look at how far you have come! It puts a smile on my face just thinking about it. The secret to keeping off weight, is portion control. I found I could eat anything I wanted as long as I just ate a little bit. Shrinks the stomach, and curbs the craving for the good stuff that is bad for us.
    Take care of yourself and never stop writing, it helps me get through the day.

  6. June 17, 2010 7:57 am

    Glad you’re almost done with the chemo.

  7. Claudia permalink
    June 17, 2010 6:24 pm

    Your ticket story is sort of “gifts of the magi”, but without the hair and the watch. Though you did lose your hair, so…there ya go!

    Oh, speaking of flat belly…have you ever clicked on one of those ads that say ‘one simple secret to losing belly fat’. Maybe on the side of facebook where the teeth whitening ads are….

    I’ve always wondered what that one simple secret is… but of course you can’t get the answer by just one click….Maybe it’s the fats you’re reading about in your book! Mystery solved.

    Hooray for one final chemo!

    xoxo

  8. June 18, 2010 8:40 am

    I’m thinking that it must be soon for your last chemo. I cry with relief for you. A new life awaits you and you have now paid off every bad karma thing you ever even thought about so only great things await you! (BTW any diet that includes dark chocolate = yummy)

Leave a Reply

