Skip to content

Get Thee Behind Me, Evil Cancer, I’ve Got Cooking to Do!

June 22, 2010

I am a Chemo Graduate! At the end of it, my oncology nurse made an announcement to the room and everyone clapped. It was really nice. I’d have been a little more excited had I been feeling better, but these past few weeks have left my stomach feeling a bit wooky. The oncologist gave me a prescription for a stronger anti-naseau medication that will knock me out. And I’m looking forward to being knocked out. During this whole chemo time, I haven’t had much sleeping time. I’ve had Laying On The Couch Time. Way too much of that, but hardly sleeping.

I deserve to be knocked out.

My sister joined me for the chemo portion of today’s appointment. The Big Nugget was there for the oncologist portion but got to leave as soon as Jayne arrived.

I love my sister. She’s a talker. And she made chemo time fly by. She’d brought a couple of cooking  magazines and a couple of her beloved church cookbooks so we spent the time talking about food. Which is not my thing for the next week but it is my thing, in general, and I so look forward to cooking again.

As a matter of fact, we’ve decided to work on a new project. We’ve talked for years about putting together a cookbook, with our little sister-in-law, and I think it’s time we do it. But first, we’re going to start a joint venture blog. I talked with my little sis-in-law this afternoon, and I think she’s excited about it.

Years ago we had an “Aunties Cooking School” class with our nieces, sharing some recipes and hopefully giving them the same passion we have for cooking. I’m not so sure we rubbed off on them in one lesson but it was alot of fun and alot of family bonding. We want to continue to give them the passion and continue to bond with them, and hopefully the nephews. Cooking is not just for girls!

I’ll keep you posted. But first I cannot come up with a name for the blog to cookbook. I thought about going with The Aunties Cooking School Cook Book but we’re not teachers and we are definitely not a cooking school. I’ll figure out something and let you know when it’s started.

Can you tell that I’m ready to get this cancer behind me and get on with something new and FUN?!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. dan permalink
    June 22, 2010 9:54 pm

    as allison would say WA HOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! love ya kid

  2. poolagirl permalink
    June 22, 2010 10:29 pm

    Doing the happy dance! Happy dance! Happy happy dance!

  3. June 23, 2010 12:17 am

    So happy for you! That sounds like a really fun project. My mom did something like that a few years ago. She put in all her favorite recipes, and a lot of family stories around them, and lots of pictures. I really like having it. I’m glad you have something wonderful to look forward to.

  4. June 23, 2010 8:03 am

    I’m glad you’re finished. And you’ve got a fun project ahead of you as well.

  5. June 23, 2010 8:12 am

    Congratulations! I think you must be a healthy lady, no matter what you’ve gone through. (They lengthened my time between chemo treatments because I was not tolerating them well; it took more than four months.) I’m so glad you’re through and can look forward to projects that are more fun.

    • June 23, 2010 9:26 am

      I did get lucky, Harriet, no delays for me! As a matter of fact – this last one was a day short of 3 weeks! Now – time for fun!!!

  6. June 23, 2010 8:35 am

    Congrats on being done with chemo – YAY!

    That cookbook sounds like a fantastic project. Please tell me there will be authentic hotdish recipes in it. 🙂

    • June 23, 2010 9:26 am

      Of course! What would a Minnesota cookbook be without a hot dish recipe – or 50?!!!

  7. June 23, 2010 9:28 am

    WOO HOO!!! I’m so happy for you. Now you can go back to feeling better and doing fun things. I wish I could sign up for your Aunties’ Cooking Class. Are you taking non-relative signers-up?

    • June 23, 2010 9:30 am

      No cooking class from us…just a chatty cookbook website that anyone is welcome to use!

  8. June 23, 2010 10:47 am

    WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOT.

    😀

    Also, I once wanted to put together a cookbook with my grandmother’s recipes and my ex-husband’s grandmother’s recipes (they’re both from Maine). Then it was splitsville with my ex, so I put a bunch of my Grandmother’s recipes on my cooking blog. Your idea for a family-generated cooking blog is FANTASTIC and I really look forward to seeing what you all come up with!

  9. Kathy F. permalink
    June 23, 2010 11:11 am

    Name suggestion? “The Aunties Are Cooking” or “The Aunties Cook”…..
    And, congratulations on your last chemo, I hope you feel better soon!

  10. June 23, 2010 11:30 am

    Congratulations Graduate! Now it’s on with the rest of your life. Yipee!!

  11. Anonymous permalink
    June 23, 2010 11:53 am

    Congrats, Kath! Thank goodness this “stuff” is behind you. Thanks again for letting us share your journey.

    How fun to having a ‘sharing cooking blog’. Does this mean if we peek in, we become ‘kissin’ cousins’? I know, I know – not exactly kissin’ – nor huggin’ – but ‘cousins’ nonetheless? Looking forward to it.

    In the meantime – knock out for awhile and catch your breath. Here’s to some real solid sleep. And then……look out Minnesota……SHE’S BACK!!!!!

  12. Anonymous permalink
    June 23, 2010 11:54 am

    Ooops – meant to sign the above – it’s Katie

  13. June 23, 2010 12:54 pm

    So-so-so VERY HAPPY for you that your chemo is done. I’m smiling a big smile for you!

  14. Niki Hawkins permalink
    June 23, 2010 1:11 pm

    I hope you do get the nephews involved. Men bring a certain je ne sais quoi to cooking.

  15. June 23, 2010 3:31 pm

    Congratulations on your graduation from Chemo – yabba dabba doo!

  16. June 23, 2010 4:52 pm

    I am soo sooooo sooooo happy to see those words! WOOHOO! You did it girl! I can’t wait to see you get everything back to normal and more on that cookbook! 🙂

  17. carmelita permalink
    June 23, 2010 5:11 pm

    I am so impressed, even more than I’ve ever been in who you are. You are an amazing person and I’m so humbled by the way you’ve walked this path. Congratulations on your graduation.
    I can’t wait to see what’s cookin’ next for you.

    I’ve made your velveeta fudge and I’ve eaten your bailey’s cake…..does it get any better?

  18. kim birt permalink
    June 23, 2010 7:39 pm

    CONGRATS….. WA HOOOOO you are one strong girl…. take care.

  19. Sally permalink
    June 23, 2010 8:11 pm

    Congratulations!!

  20. Suzi permalink
    June 24, 2010 9:08 am

    Hurray for you! Back to “normal” (what ever that may be). Now can we start a pool on how your hair will grow back….curly, straight, wavy, etc)?

  21. Tracy Posch permalink
    June 25, 2010 6:49 pm

    You guys rubbed off on me:) I have made that lasagna a few times since and continue to add to my collection of dishes. We need to do another “Auntie’s cooking school”!

Leave a Reply

