Skip to content

No!!!!!

June 24, 2010

I just got off the phone with the surgeon’s secretary…seems I have to have my portacath removal time changed due to an emergency reschduling of the surgeon’s schedule tomorrow.

But my deductible ends on July 1st. And my immune system is at risk by Tuesday. So the secretary put me on hold and found that one of the other surgeons (still not my regular one) can do it Monday afternoon.

Fine.

That means I have 3 more days of living with the stupid port, goddammit. But at least I’ll get it out without having to start my deductible payments right away. There will be lots of opportunities for that. Right now, I’m just trying to pick up prescriptions and get a second set of lymphedema glove and sleeve before it’s more cash out of our pockets.

That crap behind me, I’m doing pretty well today.

I’m trying new things. No sweet beverages. No more damned water  uless absolutely necessary. I’m living on Unsweetened Iced Tea from McDonald’s or from home. And I’m trying to figure out what I can eat without making my stomach go rock-hard. That’s not easy to do. But at least I’ve got the knock-out anti-naseau medication for night time. That’s helping me get alot of rest. Those stupid sleeping pills did nothing for me. The anti-nauseau pills are awesome.  Just not in the daytime when I want to run around. And I want to run around.

Also? I started the new cooking blog for me, my sis, and my little sis-in-law. Nothing’s up there but the banner so far. But you should bookmark it, put it into your Google Reader Feeder and be prepared for some great recipes:

Click Here

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 6:11 pm

    Yay for anti-nausea medicine that works! Yay for McDonald’s unsweetened Iced Tea! And yay for getting that G.D. port out!

    Here is your smiley moment of the day brought to you by Xander. I took him for his first dentist appointment, and the sweet, lovely dental assistant was explaining the value of a fluoride treatment to him. “It will make your teeth nice and strong!” Xander’s response? “If I put it up my nose with it make my boogers nice and strong too?” Boys and their boogers….

  2. June 24, 2010 6:23 pm

    Ooo a cooking blog! I will have to check it out! And I’m thrilled that stupid port will be out soon. You’ll be so much more comfortable.

  3. June 24, 2010 9:06 pm

    I need a kick ass reciped for macaroni and cheese that does not involve velveeta. If one of those floats your way then float it mine. Please & thank you (PS when that damn port comes out you will feel more normal and graduated, whatever normal is for you 🙂

  4. June 24, 2010 10:26 pm

    Glad you worked things out. Glad you’re DONE!!!

Leave a Reply

