Skip to content

My Drowned Right Hand

July 4, 2010

Oh lord, am I feeling sorry for myself today. And to think, I had so much fun yesterday. It’s this fricking lymphedema hand. I hate it and I fear that it will never go away. Leaving me with the hand of someone who’s been floating in water longer than a person should float in water.

Now that I’ve got the bloated carcass of my right hand off of my chest (did I mention that I can’t make jewelry because of my hand and it’s inability to particpate in the small motor skills necessary to bead?)

Okay. Enough. Now that I’ve again got the bloated right hand off of my chest, yesterday was fun.

I picked my mom up early in the morning and we headed down to my sister’s cabin. My sister and her husband were very smart when they bought a Minnesota cabin one-half hour south of the  Twin Cities outside of Faribault, instead of 3 hours, minimum with traffic, north of the Twin Cities – the Brainerd lakes area, that every other person has done.

We stopped at a gift shop in Northfield (A Bag Lady) in so that I could pick up a present for my sister. I can’t bring her food because she always makes too much food and the last thing we need is too much too much food, so I bought her a bracelet instead. Actually, I’d picked out a necklace but mom snatched it out of my hand and said she was going to give it to my sister. So I had to find something else. Mom also snatched a bracelet out of my  hand that I’d picked out for myself and bought it for me, so I’m not going to complain! I accidentally found a bracelet for my sister that was $155. Which is odd given that every other piece of jewelry in the store is priced at around $12 to $18. Leave it to me to grab the only expensive item. I put it back after finding out the price. I love my sister but she is not worth $155. She’s worth the $14 bracelet that I eventually found for her. And not a penny more!

I love Northfield. It’s got a still-alive old-fashioned downtown. Unlike every other dead downtown in Minnesota. Zumbrota? Dead. Faribault? Dead. Red Wing? Almost dead. Could be revived if anyone put in a decent restaurant. Which is what my sister should do.

It was a gorgeous day, down at my sister’s cabin. Back in the Twin Cities it was 90 degrees and miserable, but down in Faribault, on the lake, where there was this crazy breeze, it didn’t feel like 90 at all. It felt like the perfect weather to fall asleep on the hammock by the lake.

After a huge “just a light lunch” provided by my sister (seriously, I don’t have the kind of energy she does) mom and I headed back home. I took a nap and got up in time to meet Mr. and Mrs. Floweer (along with The Big Nugget) at Christo’s Greek restaurant in Minneapolis. I don’t think I’ve been there in over 20 years.

“I don’t remember it being this light in here!” I said.

“Maybe you came at night,” Floweer said.

Smart one, that Floweer.

I love gyros meat. And listening to The Big Nugget tell stories of his life in high school. Dude’s got a crazy bunch of stories from when he was growing up. He thinks it’s because he knows how to tell a story. And I think it’s because he grew up in incredible weirdness so has alot of stories to tell.

He’s from a small town. Me and the Floweers? We’re city people. Our growing up was not that weird. Silly small town folks.

After dinner we headed back to Bloomington, where the city has it’s annual fireworks on the 3rd of July. We are that advanced, have you seen Mall Cops: Mall of America? Advanced city people! The Floweers had us join them at my old elementary school (grades 4-6) for an away-from-the-masses viewing of the fireworks. Up on a hill, it was the perfect place to watch the fireworks. I’d never thought of watching fireworks from there. How perfect! Smart Floweers!

Today I woke up, battling depression. I guess it’s going to happen from time to time. If the frequency increases, I’ll look into medication. But for now I think it has something to do with the fact that I’ve got a bloated carcass right hand, I’m not even 2 weeks out of  my last chemo, and I’ve got a problem child who’s making my life miserable. Pretty much status quo around here these days.

Happy 4th of July!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosie permalink
    July 4, 2010 4:43 pm

    Northfield…isn’t that where the James-Younger gang had a big shootout?

    And my step-sister is in Faribault, and my step-father’s family was from Brainerd!

  2. July 4, 2010 6:14 pm

    Nothing Pollyanna to say, or even any cute Xanderisms to share! I just wanted to say we ❤ you.

  3. Poolie permalink
    July 4, 2010 6:16 pm

    Once again, I read too fast. I thought you said you liked gross meat.

    • July 5, 2010 9:37 am

      Somebody either needs to get her eyes checked or her brain out of the gutter! 😉

  4. July 4, 2010 7:34 pm

    Hi Kath!
    Hope tomorrow’s better, and the day after that’s better than that, and the day after that’s better than that, and the da– well, you get it.
    xo(etc),
    Moi

  5. July 6, 2010 10:10 am

    We watch Mall Cops ALL the time. I love how there’s always a fight in the food court, a drunken guy whose pants fall down, and one of the biker guys trying to find someone’s car in the parking lot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

