Skip to content

Ogre The Top

July 6, 2010

I’m experimenting with my fat hand. I had a few days where I had no swelling. I had knuckles, even. I thought it  had something to do with the fact that on those days, I was taking steroids for the chemo. But this morning I woke, wondering if it had anything to do with the fact that around that same time, I was aspartame free. So I did me a little checking and found this web page about the 92 side effects of aspartame. And on that list, out of alphabetical order was “edema”. The fact that it was not in alphabetical order, like the rest of the list, was a sign that I needed to take heed and experiment.

I’ll keep you posted!

I want a  Diet Coke so bad.

I ran some errands yesterday. I didn’t want to. I’m sick of running around with a stupid cap on my stupid bald head. And the answer is not to run around bald because I’m not in the mood to not make eye contact with people, which is what you have to do when you’re running around as a bald-headed woman – not make eye contact with people who are not making eye contact with you. It’s just off kilter.

But I got over my sorry self and ran out to pick up needful things, including a new bottle of nail polish that I didn’t even know I needed. A color I would have never purchased before the stupid cancer but now that my life has totally changed, I figured, “what the hell” and went for it.

Did you know that OPI has a series of Shrek-inspired nail polish?

I didn’t!

Here, on my gloved hand is Ogre-The-Top.

I figured that my hand looks ridiculous with this ugly glove so why not add blue  nail polish (a color that I love, but not for fingernails).

I actually like it!

Did you notice that my nails didn’t fall off?

***

The Big Nugget forced me to go to a movie yesterday.

Nugget: Want to go to a  movie?

Me: No

Nugget: Toy Story 3?

Me: I don’t think I saw 2

Nugget: I’m pretty sure you don’t have to see 2 in order for 3 to  make sense.

Me: I don’t want to go to a movie. I’m doing stuff.

Nugget: What are you doing?

Me: I’m watching t.v. and cutting out [grocery store] coupons.

Nugget: Get Him to the Greek is showing at 1 theatre within 10 miles.

Me: Fine.

It was your typical Judd Apatow kind of stupid movie. And I loved it. Laughed hard several times. Russell Brand is hysterical!

Alright then. Time to go figure out what to do to stop jonesing Diet Coke.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 10:47 am

    Hmmm I would suggest a regular coke… and that is an awesome color nail polish!

  2. July 6, 2010 11:21 am

    If you’re not sensitive to sugar, I would suggest a regular coke. But what about iced tea, sweetened with a different non-sugar sweetener? You could try Splenda, Sweet ‘n’ Low, or something from the stevia plant.

    I think the commercial product from stevia is Truvia (or something like that).

    • July 6, 2010 11:24 am

      I would love a real Coke. Did you know there’s no sugar in real Coke (unless you buy the Mexican Coke) – just high fructose corn syrup which leads to high triglycerides and LDLs. I’m pre-diabetic so don’t want sugar – real or fake uber-sweet. Right now I’m having an Izze sparkling fruit juice. I’ll survive! I also won’t use other fake sweeteners. None are truly safe.

      • July 6, 2010 12:22 pm

        Do you remember cyclamates? They were pulled off the market because they caused rats to get cancer. The amount given to the rats was the equivalent of drinking a couple of gallons of Diet Coke (or maybe it was Tab back then).

        I am diabetic; it’s hereditary, and I started going through the research for my dad, about thirty years before I needed to know. I’m good with aspartame (no PKU in our family), but Sweet ‘n’ Low has saccharine (which has been in use for at least 90 years) along with a bit of lactose. That’s a problem for other people.

        I can’t drink fruit juices either; natural fruit juice is full of sugar. But I can fool around with tea or herbals. My mother would say, “Well, I don’t know why you have to put in any sweetener…”

  3. July 6, 2010 12:27 pm

    As you know, I don’t support the drinkage of any diet beverage, but because I like you I will point out they make some version of Diet Coke that has Splenda in it. It has a beige stripe on the can. However I know how YOU PEOPLE are, you probably don’t like the version with Splenda.

  4. July 6, 2010 1:05 pm

    Oh. I missed the part where you declared you wouldn’t use any kind of artificial sweetener because none of them are safe. Never mind.

    • July 6, 2010 3:05 pm

      That’s okay, Jane. I know they make a Coke with Splenda, but there is some question about Splenda for diabetics, even though it has no calories. Stevia, on the other hand, is very very sweet in its natural state; that’s why they’re trying Truvia, which can be used like sugar.

      As I said, I can use aspartame without difficulty — probably because I don’t overdo.

Leave a Reply

