Skip to content

Bald-Headed Disclaimer

July 9, 2010

You know what? I realize I might be offending those fellow chemo-sabes with my “in your face”  baldness. Being bald is not for every one. Just because others don’t want to run around all nekkid headed doesn’t make them weak. There aren’t many people out  there who are like me. I get over my discomfort by being downright aggressive about things. Other people, who walk in my bald-headed shoes just handle things more maturely than I do.

I’m just hoping I can make it easier for all my chemo friends, in case they want to toss out the uncomfortable wigs. But if they don’t – I totally get that. It took me months to get to this point. With hair on the horizon. If I am one of those women who doesn’t get my hair back, due to taxotere and a low percentage of women who don’t get their hair back, we’ll see how in your face I am then.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    July 9, 2010 8:05 pm

  2. Pischina permalink
    July 10, 2010 11:27 pm

    I would totally go bald headed too. I absolutely loved seeing your little bald headed Frontier Woman on FB too. I LOVE her. But I love you more.

  3. Margaret permalink
    July 12, 2010 4:02 pm

    I didn’t really mind the hats because it was the only time in my life I’ve been able to get a hat to fit my huge Irish potato head. Even my high school graduation cap had to be special ordered to fit and it was still small and pinned in many places ( I had thick hair too). My linen topper fit and was above the ears and was cool but you could still see I was bald. Husband and two kids and I entered J.C.Penneys laughing, and a woman looked up at us and when she spied my baldness she blanched pale as a ghost and kind of buckled. So I guess that the bald head can really upset human beings or I rocked it especially ugly.

  4. Vonnie permalink
    July 15, 2010 6:34 pm

    I wanted to share with you that I have a patient with a new diagnosis of Breast Ca and she is just starting her journey, first chemo this past week. She told me about how she is afraid to lose her hair, and then she saw a completely bald lady at the doctor’s office with a tattoo of a cross on the back of her head and she just dissolved into tears, “She’s so brave and made me feel that I can do this.” So your decision to go sans head covering might affect someone else in a positive way like that, even if they don’t tell you or if you don’t feel that you are doing any thing brave. It’s the moments that can make a difference in others lives. XXOO thinking of you lots

    • July 15, 2010 6:57 pm

      Vonnie – That makes me feel really happy about my decision. It’s kind of funny, but there was a woman in my oncologist’s office, before I had chemo, who was sans hair and she helped me feel more brave. This is what it takes…grassroots baldness! Thank you for sharing that with me.

Leave a Reply

