Skip to content

Bald-Headed in Blockbuster

July 9, 2010

Before I tell you my bald story from Blockbuster, I wanted to address Beth’s question, from my last entry’s comments (Beth is from Stillwater – hi Beth! Let’s go antiquing!!!) Beth wanted to know if it would be okay to say something to a bald-headed woman, were she to see one, or would it be offensive?

Speaking personally, I think it would be awesome to give a woman who is strong enough to walk around bald, some support. It’s rare and it’s not easy to be a bald woman in a non-bald-woman’s world. I kind of wish I had a photographer following me around so that we could get this message out to all the people suffering from the bald-headed-side effects of chemo.

Wigs are terribly uncomfortable. And hiding under a hat made me feel incredibly timid.

If you see me – give me some support, will ya? It’s really bullshit that somebody has to keep their head covered. I have a feeling what it’s like to be a Muslim woman. Fuck that noise.

I am timid no more.

This afternoon I was bald-headed wandering around Blockbuster (Thing 1 was with me but not next to me) and some old, crabby looking guy said, “Do you like that haircut?”

Me: It’s pretty funky,  no? But I don’t really have a choice so, sure, I like it.

Old Guy: Do you have cancer?

Me: I just finished up chemo and am waiting for my  hair to come back.

Old Guy: My wife had cancer. She died.

Me: I’m so sorry.

Old Guy: It was 14 years ago.

And then he belched. Really loud.

Poor old gassy guy.

God, how I love people.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    July 9, 2010 8:13 pm

    Wow people are really something aren’t they?

    Why do I find this man somehow charming?

    I promise to support people who are bald due to cancer and also male pattern balding (because they really can’t help that either, can they?).

    I also promise I won’t burp while doling out support.

    Beth from Stillwater

  2. Poolie permalink
    July 9, 2010 11:07 pm

    You have such a way, Kathy. What a joy you are!

  3. July 12, 2010 9:45 am

    There’s nothing on the planet like an old guy.

    Except maybe an 8-year-old boy…

Leave a Reply

