Skip to content

Kiss My Ass in Farsi, Cancer!

July 15, 2010

Cindy broke the news to me the other day, while we were in our old college town, that our friend, Fahimehgoonerbabybotchanaimabadimortensen, had died from breast cancer back in October – 2009. She’d learned about our old friend’s death back in February but didn’t know how or when to tell me.

We’d lost touch with our old college friend some time after she and her husband relocated to California. That’s what happens in our lives some times. But I know, had I known, I would have flown out to be her friend and help her through her battle.

Fahimehgoonerbabybotchanaimabadimortensen had a lot to do with the person I am today. And I’m not saying that just because she taught me how to swear in Farsi (which has come in handy more times than you’ll ever know) but because she was from a country that was nothing like my own – teaching me to appreciate all that I have and all that I can be.

It is because of Fahimehgoonerbabybotchnaimabadimortensen that I can walk with my bald head held high.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2010 9:16 pm

    I’m sorry for the loss of your old friend, but happy for you that she was in your life.

  2. poolagirl permalink
    July 15, 2010 9:23 pm

    Sorry about the loss of your friend. She sounds amazing. And so are you.

  3. July 16, 2010 2:54 pm

    That shakes a person up. Hope you’re doing all right.

  4. kim birt permalink
    July 17, 2010 5:00 pm

    sorry to hear that Kathy but you have the memories and how she touched your life… walk proud….

  5. Claudia permalink
    July 17, 2010 5:19 pm

    😦

  6. not your mo permalink
    July 18, 2010 4:24 pm

    So I have not looked at your blog for a long time and then I see…..you contracted the crap cancer! After reading through the archives I can see you are taking on this new life challenge with humor and grace. Keep it up lady! You are cheering me up as I deal with the complications from my own strange and odd cancer, multiple myeloma. The tumor I had announced it’s presence by breaking two vertebra in my spine. It’s always something isn’t it? Whether it’s insane and annoying swelling of the extremities or hot full on body braces, cancer just keeps on screwing with your body and mind.

    I am sorry about your friend. I wish you luck and continued strength with the other illness in your home. That just sucks. Isn’t it weird how moms can be very sick and we worry more about other people than we do ourselves?

    Again, kudos to you for making it through your treatment and I hope you can continue to have the strength to fight the other weird physical crap that goes with cancer. Thank you so much for recording all of the things you are going through because I know it’s helping me and it will help others who are have to endure this craptastic disease.

    • July 18, 2010 6:16 pm

      Not My Mo – I’m sorry to hear about your crappy cancer! Damn! Why won’t the cancer just leave us good people alone?

      I’m wishing you strength in your battle.

      Kathy

Leave a Reply

