Skip to content

Tamoxifen Eve

July 18, 2010

I just wrote the biggest, whiniest entry, ever. So pathetic that I couldn’t post it. Let’s all be thankful that my edit button is working.

I start Tamoxifen tomorrow. For 5 years. It should, fingers crossed – knock on wood – spit on the floor, lower my chances significantly from ever getting breast cancer again.

If I don’t die from a blood clot that it could give me.

Or gain so much weight that I can’t get out of the basement.

Or forget that I can’t take Benadryl because it will cause the Tamoxifen to be ineffective.

Benadryl?

My tiny little Grandma took Tamoxifen for 5 years, when she was in her 80s, and never got cancer again. She lived another 14 or so years. She didn’t fuss about any side effects from Tamoxifen and she most certainly did not gain the 5 to 15 lbs. that are guaranteed when you take Tamoxifen.

There are good things that come with Tamoxifen (some times, but not always, and I plan to be lucky here.) It can lower your cholesterol and it can help stop bone loss.

Or it can do the opposite. But mostly it lowers your cholesterol and stops bone loss.

That weight gain thing is really ticking me off though. I just lost weight and I don’t want to gain it back. Did I tell you that my blood pressure is normal now that I’m thinner? That’s how it always works with me. If I go up 5 lbs., my blood pressure will rise ridiculously.

And so tomorrow is the official start to my low-carb (south beach-like) eating lifestyle. My life depends on it. Somebody needs to tell my mother to stop bringing over treats. And while you’re at it, would you please tell her that she needs to stop stopping in without calling first? Thanks.

I also plan to start walking daily, no matter how much my right hand swells. I’ll cut it off it I have to (and then I’ll let you know how much the human hand weighs as I will log the weight loss!) I’ve got that damned Mall of America in my neighborhood, I might as well use it to walk in. I just have to get over there before the stores open so I don’t interrupt my walking and spend all of our money. Were I to write a Get Over Cancer book, it would include the money spent on walk breaks.

Do you think Cinnabon has a low-carb cinnamon roll?

I didn’t think so either. I guess I’ll have to stick to the non-fat milk lattes at Caribou.

No Cinnabon! God! My life sucks!

Did that sound White enough for you?

(p.s. I never eat at Cinnabon but now that I definitely shouldn’t, I definitely want to. Just thought I’d say that because at least one of you is thinking that if I’d step away from the Cinnabon, I’d never be fat in the first place and you know how my being fat gave me the cancer in the first place. I don’t know how it gave my little grandma the breast cancer because on her fattest day she still weighed under 90 pounds! Or how people much fatter than me don’t have the breast cancer at all. You finger pointers need to get out of my head!)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Poolie permalink
    July 18, 2010 10:34 pm

    Stay clear of that Benadryl, eh? What a truly silly complication. You are going to do just fine, Miss Kathy. Come out to San Diego and we will walk on the beach!

  2. July 19, 2010 10:03 am

    I was going to ask you if you’d been put on “adjuvant therapy.” My doctor prescribed Arimidex, which can thin your bones, so that you have to take Fosamax and calcium too. Arimidex is ridiculously expensive, and annoying, and he wanted me to continue after five years but my primary and I talked him out of it.

    It finally occurred to me that your treatment differed from mine because you are younger and healthier than I was. You will note, however, that I survived.

Leave a Reply

