Skip to content

No Nonsense Me Over the Head

July 22, 2010

Did you see Bill Murray on Letterman last night? Lord, I still love Bill Murray!

Thanks for letting me fuss yesteday, peeps. It helps to get it off of my chest – and so many of you give me hope. And calm me down.

I’m meeting with a chiropractor tomorrow morning. Not Dr. Matt. And not the chiropractor with a twist in physiology. This one is a referral from some no nonsense friends. And after talking with the chiropractor on the phone yesterday afternoon, this is a chiropractor who is also no nonsense.

Dr. Matt was nice but he was pretty much just an adjustor. This woman is definitely more holistic and she’s already working on a holistic approach to my foot and my cancer. She wants to mess with my diet and it’s about time somebody did.

I also have an appointment for a consultation with the reconstructive surgeon on Monday. I want to know if I should just go ahead and have surgery now or try and lose some of this back fat before I have the surgery. I’m hoping he’ll want to do something for me soon because I am sick and tired of feeling this gross.

I just worry about surgery and my arm. We’ll see what he has to say about that. Did I tell you that this surgeon, who my breast surgeon referred me to, is the same surgeon who did Sting and my mom’s neighbor – Terry’s, surgery on? And he did a great job with them (remember – I’ve seen Terry’s boobs many times) so it was pretty cool that, out of the blue, my breast surgeon referred me to a reconstructive surgeon who’s work I’ve actually seen! (whether I wanted to or not. According to my mom, Terry is now showing her new nipples to the world. I’m trying to keep my distance. And can I say a special thank you to Sting, who’s never offered to show me her boob job!)

Another thing I  need to do is to go through my closets and figure out what pieces of clothing make me feel like myself and what pieces of clothing make me feel like a fucking dork.

I can already tell you the things that make me feel like me…button down shirts, black t-shirts and white t-shirts under sweater vests. The end. All that other stuff that I was trying to hide under needs to go. Or be trimmed down to a few things that I’ll like wearing under jean jackets this fall, after this wet summer is gone.

I wish Ellen Degeneres were my size because I like her wardrobe. Except those man vests that she wears. Because if Ellen were my size, I’d write her a letter and ask her to send me her used goods. And I’m just sure Ellen would do that because, afterall, I am the center of the universe.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. dan permalink
    July 22, 2010 9:25 pm

    you are the center of some universe not sure which one but glad to be in the same one love ya

  2. Debbie permalink
    July 23, 2010 2:20 pm

    Hey Kathy:

    I’ve been reading your blog for quite some time and was prompted to write when you mentioned your problems with plantar fasciitis. I found these shoes kind of by accident… http://www.soleprovisionsshop.com/Articles.asp?ID=151

    ..and decided, what the heck and ordered a pair. They are kind of strange when you first put them on, and the flyer included with them recommends wearing them only a few hours at a time until you get used to them. I can honestly say my feet feel better already, and I’ve only been wearing them for a few days. Best of all, they don’t look like grandma shoes which I also hate, even though I am a grandma (55!). Anyhow, thought you might like to at least take a look.
    Best Wishes,
    Debbie in Texas

  3. Claudia permalink
    July 23, 2010 3:09 pm

    Sorry I missed yesterday’s post. Here’s a post-post hug. {{{{{{{{{{{{}}}}}}}}}}}}}}

Leave a Reply

