Skip to content

Back in my Day

July 24, 2010

I am currently addicted to listening to Podcasts through iTunes. Right now I’m going through The Splendid Table. Learning all about food. All the food facts I ignored in middle school home economics class.

Did you know that I didn’t know about podcasts on iTunes?

Am I the last to know?

Speaking of Home Economics class, did I ever tell you, blog friends, that I worked in the Home Economics Department while I was in college. (For five years. Without ever obtaining a college degree? Let me be a lesson to you. Focus on school, not on your social life.)

The Home Economics Department was awesome! A fascinating collection of home economics teachers who were a combination of old-school girdles, cat glasses and back-combed hair, plus 70s feminists and one gay man with a pageboy wig.

It was the 70s and those were difficult times for working women. There was the combination of women who chose to work over marriage, and the women who fought to do both. You had a department that included a number of “old maids” and a number of women who were trying to do it all in a world that didn’t make it easy for them. And one gay man with a pageboy wig. Who crocheted boobs for a hobby (I googled him, he’s still fascinated with boobs – only now he makes them with fused metal.)

I think about the home economics department and how those women struggled when I think about how much “easier” it is for the women today. How the world is more set up to accept working women and moms. Men play a bigger role in the family.

I don’t know where to go with this. I just got to thinking is all.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Floweer permalink
    July 24, 2010 9:01 am

    I know nothing about podcasts on iTunes. I need some teaching! See you tomorrow. The weather is just going to be perfect – no humidity – good laughs – and good friends. Can’t wait.

  2. July 24, 2010 9:06 am

    I went back to work (nine years out with pregnancy and little kids) in the late seventies. I was one of those trying to do both work and marriage, though family still held precedence. I felt I had to teach my kids self-sufficiency before I could take a full-time job.

    Yeah, it’s easier today. But there are still workplaces where moms are penalized if they decide to stay home when they’re kids get sick. So they go in to work and infect everyone else… It was a big news story last winter; I don’t know how it ended, if it did.

  3. lap permalink
    July 24, 2010 9:11 am

    I always forget about the podcasts, but I subscribe to ones that are mostly about the TV. Because that’s what I care about I guess- dumbass pop culture. I think YOU could make a hilarious podcast- I would love to have you and any guest talking about anything. “That’s Where I Go Tanning!” we could call it..I’d be your producer.

  4. July 24, 2010 5:37 pm

    I know about podcasts, but can’t figure out how to get them and listen to them, so I think that makes me officially dumber than you.

  5. July 26, 2010 8:07 am

    This American Life is one of my favorite pod casts. I have my husband down load it for me. Technology and I aren’t on the same page.

  6. July 28, 2010 1:23 pm

    Well hell I don’t even know what a pod cast is, so I guess this means I am the dumbest. I have lost all my internet common sense and ipod and pod cast and all of that is alien to me.

Leave a Reply

