Skip to content

Dinner is a Learning Moment

July 27, 2010

Before anything happens to me today, I should write an entry about the dinner with Floweer and Carol, and our husbands.

We were supposed to have grilled pork chops. That’s what Floweer said we were going to have. But then Floweer read a newspaper and all of a sudden Carol and I were supposed to study a newspaper article because the pork chops got changed to grilled pizza. Go on and study it yourselves!

I have to be honest here, since the 2 Sues came over and made pork chops for me – shortly after my surgery – I’ve been turned off of pork chops. And parsnips. And black beans.  So I was relieved that we were no longer having pork chops. I was concerned, however, that we had to study before dinner.

So I did what any adult woman would do and I didn’t read the article. Had I known there would be a test when I got to Floweer’s patio, I probably still wouldn’t have read the article.

You know I’m stubborn, right?

Floweer seemed a little disappointed that neither Carol nor I read the article. But that was okay because Floweer printed off a copy and made Carol read the directions out loud. Which is fine because Carol is a teacher and this is what teachers should do. Even though they are on their summer break and are not getting paid to teach. Kind of like the next time Floweer comes over to my house, I’m going to make her weed. (Floweer and her husband own a garden center, in case you didn’t know) And how, when I’m invited to people’s houses, I should be made to sit around and eat. Because that’s what I do professionally. Only I don’t get paid for it.

All of Floweer’s paper reading and pizza finding and giving Carol and I the stink-eye because we were talking and not listening to her pizza instructions paid off. Those pizzas were awesome! If I weren’t afraid to work with active yeast, I might make them myself.

Carol brought her mother-in-law’s lemon pie with a cornflake crust. Which was awesome! And I know that Carol sent me the recipe (I think. I imagine. Chemo brain?) but I can’t find it and wonder if I deleted her e-mail by accident. Carol? Can I get it again? Please?

Thanks for the fun night, my friends. My house next time!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 27, 2010 11:23 am

    Except for the rapid-rise yeast (which probably wasn’t available at the time), that is pretty much the way I made pizza twenty-five years ago. I made enough dough for about two 10-inch pizzas, took off enough to make Husband a six-inch soft crust, and patted the rest into a bigger pan. It was a favorite for years. And much better for you than pork chops.

  2. July 27, 2010 12:53 pm

    you’re such a gracious guest. I don’t eat meat, especially pork, or wheat, grilled or otherwise. What’s the problem with yeast for you?

  3. Carol permalink
    July 27, 2010 5:30 pm

    We had fun too! I will email you the recipe again….. enjoy!

  4. July 28, 2010 12:01 pm

    hee! The Ba sent me that recipe last week, too. Glad to know it is awesome as you know how I am about cooking…

  5. Floweer permalink
    July 29, 2010 11:03 am

    Stink eye! Me give you the stink eye??!?! Great fun. We will have dinner/school again.

Leave a Reply

