Skip to content

Nutritionally Speaking

July 30, 2010

Boy oh boy, did I ever hit it off with my nutritionist! She is also a breast cancer survivor. 15 years now. And get this – she had the same surgeon and the same oncologist that I did! You realize there are a lot of people in the Twin Cities metro area and a whole lot of surgeons and oncologists. What are the odds?

Very cool.

We spent 2 hours together, talking about the forms I’d send to her the day before and working on a specific plan for my specificnessedness.

The plan is basically what a diabetic should be eating. Pretty similar to a South Beach/Mediterranean kind of diet.

The nutritionist would like me to go all organic and I agree, organic is a good thing and I’ll do my best, but I don’t foresee going all organic. Almond butter? We’ll see.

My day breaks down like this:

6 meals/snacks per day. Each meal/snack has a protein (4 oz. at meals, 2 oz. at snacks), a carbohydrate (not bread, but 1/2 c. grains + 1-3 cups “light vegetables” (see below) or “concentrated vegetables” + 1/2 c fruit), and a fat (i.e., olive oil, butter, mayo, cr. cheese). This will keep my blood sugars pretty stable throughout the day and keep me from getting hungry. Maybe I’m weird, but I liked the specifics instead of getting suggestions. She even wrote down sample meals/snacks for me.

More simple terms: Balanced Eating, 6 meals/snacks per day.

Each meal/snack should include:

Protein – 2 oz. (at snack) -4 oz. (at meals) i.e., beef, turkey, chicken, eggs, plain yogurt, cottage cheese, fish, seafood. Organic deli meats and hot dogs are okay.

Fats & Seeds – 1 to 2 tbsp. i.e., olive oil, butter, cream, mayo, cream cheese. 1/2 avocado, 1/4 raw nuts, 10 olives.

The Carbs:
Grains – 1/2 cup i.e., oats, rye, brown/wild rice, beans & lentils  
Vegetables – 1-3 cups “light” (i.e., broccoli, cucumbers, peppers, green beans, greens, tomato, etc.)  or 1/2 c. “concentrated” (carrots, corn, peas, potatoes, etc.)
Fruits – 1/2 cup

I’ve got 3 supplements – bifido bacteria and l-glutamine (for my intestinal tract, the l-glutamine is specifically for the post-chemo repair), and omega 3 – for my blood pressure and triglycerides.

No Diet Coke, eventually. Here’s what I really like about the nutritionist. She knows I’ve addicted and wants me to taper down, not go cold turkey. Unless I really want to go cold turkey. But she thinks the healthy foods and the l-glutamine will help me not want the Diet Coke anymore. I’ll believe that when I see that.

And no sugar. Unless it’s in a fruit.

Looks healthy, doesn’t it? I’ll do the best that I can, as often as I can. I’d really like to have more energy, reduce inflammation and have a better next 50 years.

Are you in?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 7:33 pm

    My kid, who has recently made a hundred per cent turnaround from being a total junk food junkie, LOVES almond butter. She says the only brand she likes is what they sell at Trader Joe’s, but she loves it to pieces.

    As for the diabetic-type diet, doesn’t it seem like everyone should just eat this way and it would be good for everyone?

    • July 30, 2010 7:46 pm

      You’re right Ms. Chai. We should all be eating this way. But with all those other tasty options out there, it’s so difficult! I did pick up some almond butter at Whole Foods and plan on trying it. If it’s no good, I’ll try the Trader Joe’s next time. Thx!

  2. July 30, 2010 8:06 pm

    Well, that makes me feel good. I ate a proper supper without even planning it. The snack, unfortunately, will be…ice cream. But it happens to work for me.

  3. July 30, 2010 8:14 pm

    God, I wish I could follow that too, but I am just too lazy (yep – I said it!) to think about food. I just want it to appear on a plate in front of me once or twice a day – preferably at Starbucks and Panera’s.

  4. Beth permalink
    July 30, 2010 8:17 pm

    I am SO in! …except today – it’s my birthday and I had to have some Key’s house cake. But, tomorrow, I’m there.

    I’m really interested in the web site Mark’s Daily Apple. You may like it too. Check it out – it’s a lot about eating primal (low carbs, sugar, etc) reducing inflammation and just feeling better. When I’m on, I must admit I do feel better. If I stay away from sugar for a week, I’m good to go – it’s just that first week is such a BITCH!!

    I am so happy you’re making healthy choices and therefore I can look forward to reading your travails (like that? not sure if it’s a word, but it sounds right) for many years to come.

    Your friend in Stillwater!

  5. July 30, 2010 9:00 pm

    Thank you for posting that. The SAH has just been diagnosed with diabetes. We have an appointment with his doctor Monday to talk about nutrition and how to manage it — I am trying to learn everything I can, and your entry is written in actual English, which I appreciate. So much of the information is not.

    Good luck following it, and know that we’ll be doing it right alongside you.

  6. lap permalink
    July 30, 2010 10:59 pm

    I’d like to try eating like this. Is there any evidence it will help cure listlessness and self-hatred?

    • July 31, 2010 7:47 am

      It’s a miracle, lap! It can cure everything! Okay. Not sure. You’re better off with me telling you to knock it off! Did you know that my hair is coming back and it’ll be soon that we can go out to eat and I don’t have to wear a hat?! Well, I don’t have to wear a hat now but that self-conscious crap is getting old. Now – stop hatin’ on yourself and figure out where we’re going!

      • lap permalink
        July 31, 2010 9:29 am

        Dude I am trying. It’d be so much easier if I trusted medication and it worked for me. But an event to plan is WAY BETTER than medication! I need a healthy dose of K-lo for sure.

        This is just the place for us to go..
        http://www.kingsmpls.com/

  7. Nicki permalink
    July 31, 2010 4:07 am

    Last year, I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, followed by a breast cancer diagnosis two months later. After the initial diabetic diagnosis and 2 months of little improvement on the diabetic meds, I also sought the advice of a nutritionist, and after 6 weeks of following her dietary recommendations, my A1C number dropped almost 2 points and I also lost approximately 16-18 pounds. I was never hungry and the pounds seemed to melt away…Much success to you with your program! After my cancer diagnosis, dealing with the diabetes sort of took a backseat in my life, but all is good now. I am now trying to get back to healthful eating habits…Much success to you with your program. If you would like, I would be happy to share some tried and true recipes which are pretty yummy!
    Nicki

    • July 31, 2010 7:43 am

      Nicki – Way to go with the good eating! I wish our bodies had better ways of telling us that we weren’t feeding them right rather than to get cancer and, in your case – cancer & diabetes! Lessons learned, my friend. I’d love any recipes you’re willing to share! xox

  8. Gretchen permalink
    July 31, 2010 8:25 am

    I’m in, sort of. I quit sugary snacks (again) after a donut Thursday and I think it might stick this time. I want to see if I have better energy, fewer aches & pains, and my skin looks better. Kind of expecting a lot, but I have done it before and seen improvement. 2 days sugar free here.

  9. Carol permalink
    July 31, 2010 10:59 am

    We were recently in California and we stayed with a family that ate all organic food. In my opinion, it really does taste much better. I too, need to work on cutting down on Diet Coke and sugar. Good for you for beginning a “new journey” with your health!

    I LOVE reading your blogs! I think that you should some day go into journalism.

  10. not your mo permalink
    July 31, 2010 11:08 pm

    You are so brave to quit sugar. I don’t think I could do it. I am addicted to Coke. I know I should stop eating anything with sugar in it to cut down on my re-occurance odds. I tried to when I was doing radiation but it was tough because not much tasted right and I was so tired.
    You are throwing down the gauntlet to quit sugar so I might try to do some things to improve my diet gradually. Like cutting down to one ten oz coke in the morning. Or eating fruit or a protein based snack instead of something sugary.
    I can try and we’ll see how I do. Thanks for the encouragement and links to information. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

