Skip to content

Your Body is a Car

July 31, 2010

If any of you want recipes for some healthy eating, go to the website of my nutritionist for some great ones. You’ll see that they believe in real foods, like butter and cream and meat. We need to give our bodies the proper fuel, not the fake stuff.

And then wash it down with Diet Coke.

I know!

I can’t stop! I get high from Diet Coke.

Wheeeeeeeeee!

Don’t forget to listen to the nutritionist’s radio talk show on Saturday mornings (if you click on the link, it’ll take you to their radio webpage so you can listen to the taped shows – my nutritionist isn’t one of the radio personalities, that I know of). Eventually, if you’re anything like me, the information will sink in and you’ll want to eat better

And wash it down with Diet Coke.

If you’re anything like me. But it would be so much better for you if you would be better than me. And then let me know how to kick the Diet Coke.

If your body is a car, good foods are the fuel and the properly working car parts. Diet Coke is when you toss in a bunch of distracting teenagers with an 8-track tape of Barry Manilow. I mean, Rush. Wait, is Rush a distracting band? I was trying to think back to 8-track days and couldn’t come up with anyone that I listened to besides Barry Manilow. Or Elton John. Which could be very distracting, if you’re head banging to Better Off Dead.

I’ve got no plans for this weekend, how about you? If it weren’t so frickin’ humid (most humid summer in my entire lifetime!) I’d start stripping and painting some of my bedroom furniture. It’s an outdoor project, unless I want to get high from the fumes instead of from Diet Coke, so it’s just going to have to wait until the weather cooperates.

I’ve got 2 very old dressers in our bedroom that I want to paint white. Or off-white. Not sure. Doesn’t matter. One of them my grandfather made, the other my father made. They are from totally different eras and it’ll be kind of hard to strip them because they are both finished by the hands of my grandpa and dad. But that’s just the finish. They actually built both of them and that’s more important to me. I’m just tired of my room looking like a garage sale and would like it to look like I meant it to look like it does. And also? Get that I Went Through Cancer In Here look out of the room.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. lap permalink
    July 31, 2010 9:32 am

    Go to that link and there are classes with food solutions for EVERYTHING that troubles me except for a messy house. I’m not even kidding.

  2. July 31, 2010 11:02 am

    Good food gives you the energy you need to clean your messy home! Ha! I bet you thought you had an excuse! xox

  3. July 31, 2010 9:28 pm

    Kathy, I love Diet Coke just as much as you do! Every morning on my way to work I stop at the WaWa and get a 32 oz cup of ice and Diet Coke. I suck on that all mornind then at lunch I get another one and then I always have a can of Diet Coke for dinner. Is it REALLY that bad for us???

    • July 31, 2010 9:30 pm

      It’s a toxic beverage! According to the nutritionist and other stuff I’ve read, aspartame can give you body a reaction similar to sugar, causing your insulin level to rise. Which causes all sorts of chaos, including inflammation in the body – that is the basis for all sorts of body problems. I’m not sure if I believe it but I am suspicious! Did I mention that I just finished Diet Coke #2 of the day?

      • August 1, 2010 4:10 pm

        I’ve read all of those scary sites about aspartame, but I’m just not convinced. I’ve alreadyhad two today and am heading for my third in about a half hour. Please apologize to your nutritionist for me.

  4. August 1, 2010 1:25 am

    That stuff is trash, Kathy. You put that sh*t into your body after it’s just been demolished by chemo and steroids and anti-nausea meds and your liver is crying for mercy. Don’t you hear it? How’s that for tough love? And you know I do love you and care about you and your body and your health. I dont know what your nutritionist would think of this but if you eat dark chocolate and wash it down with green tea [you can make it iced green tea, no sugar], you’ll wonder what was the big deal about the Diet Coke buzz, and you may be able to wean yourself off the Diet Coke. Then you can wean yourself off the green tea and chocolate. I’ve got to get a juicer…kale, cucumber, spinach, parsley, carrot, celery juice. Yum.

    • August 1, 2010 10:33 am

      The nutritionist wants me to eat kale, cucumber, parsley and veggies, too. But protein, in meat and dairy form, is food for the brain! xox

  5. lap permalink
    August 1, 2010 8:06 pm

    Kale is just as yummy as beets are Kathy. I love making an omelet with kale and goat cheese.

Leave a Reply

