Skip to content

This is Your Brain on Animal Protein

August 1, 2010

You should see me, what with all the healthy eating. I even impress myself!

I haven’t had issues of going without sugar. It might have something to do with the chemo making sugar unpleasant so that I just haven’t had my usual sugar supply running through my veins.

Some of you are worried about my eating, what with the meat and all. But the thing is, I’m not a vegetarian and believe that I never will be. Did I tell you that my nutritionist used to be a vegetarian? Animal protein feeds the brain!

The meat I’m eating is mostly lean. Organic turkey brats and boneless/skinless chicken breasts kind of stuff. Right now I’m getting ready to eat some steamed broccoli and a grilled chicken breast that I made a tasty rub for.

However, I am thankful that this way of eating includes beef. I love beef.

I’m getting in so many more vegetables and this is really easy for the rest of the family. Well, dinner is easy for the family. They’re on their own for breakfast and lunch. I don’t think they’re into plain yogurt on 1/2 cup of brown rice like I am.

Oh lord, I am so boring!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 1, 2010 8:39 pm

    Being on my own diet broke a custom of long standing. I would ask my husband what he wanted for supper and he would say, “what are you having?” And I would fix something that we both would eat, and I would probably eat too much of the wrong thing because he wouldn’t eat salad or whole grains or anything that needed to be chewed…

    When I went on Nutrisystems, he would ask me what I was having and I’d say, “something from the box.” Meaning the box of entrees that had been delivered. “Not my cup of tea,” he’d say. After nearly forty years, he learned that we didn’t always have to eat the same thing. Sometimes I’d leave him something to microwave when he was ready to eat it.

    He has put on so much weight at the nursing home that we’re buying him new (larger) clothes every couple of months. He wasn’t this heavy when I was feeding him.

  2. August 1, 2010 10:57 pm

    vegan isn’t for everyone, but some people seem to thrive on it.

  3. August 2, 2010 2:51 pm

    This sounds good. I could stand to loose 20 lbs. I like that it has meat involved and I already eat alot of veggies but I obviously eat way too much!

  4. August 3, 2010 9:51 am

    Mmm meat. I could never go full-on vegetarian because I actually *like* meat. But I do try to cook with less meat, using only 3/4lb of ground meat when a recipe calls for a full pound — and my husband never misses it. Or I’ll cook at least one meat-free recipe a week. And there is nothing better to me than a deliciously cooked, tender steak — though I can’t remember the last time I had one. I’m super picky about my steak, is the problem. I don’t want any of that fat or gristle or anything, so I usually only get steak when I go out.

    Good luck with your new eating plan!

Leave a Reply

