Skip to content

Out and About

August 8, 2010

The Big Nugget and I ate out twice this week. I do believe we’ve run out of stuff to talk about. Either that or we’re just sick of each other because ain’t nobody gone anywhere in the past six months…making us very dull peoples. And the stuff that we did in the past six months is something we’re so very tired of talking about.

He’s probably as sick of looking at my bald head as I am of his.

Earlier this week we ate at The Town Talk Diner, over in southeast Minneapolis. I’ve been wanting to eat there for awhile now. The Big Nugget ate there when his big sister was in town, a couple of years ago. He really liked it. Which means alot because The Big Nugget is not a fan of eating.  And that explains why I weigh more than he does.

I was not impressed with the food. I had scallops on a bed of parsnip puree. And that might be exactly why I didn’t like it. The scallops didn’t melt in my mouth like they had at Harry’s last year, and I don’t have a fondness for parsnips.

I should tell you the parsnips story I have, some time. It’s a new story that came with the stupid breast cancer. A story that will probably cause my friends, The Two Sues, to go “Hey! How’d I get thrown under the parsnip bus?”

The Town Talk Diner is a cool looking place and the inside has got, what I believe to be, the original counter and stools; but I don’t think I’ll go back. Not when there’s alot better food to be had in the Twin Cities, at much better prices.

Like last night’s food and prices.

We ate at Mac’s Industrial Sports Bar over in Nordeast Minneapolis. Oh how I love Nordeast Minneapolis. Land of artists and Mayslack’s. (Nobody Beats Mayslack’s Meat! And if you’d met Stan Mayslack, as I did, way back when I was a working kid…you wouldn’t want to even try to beat Mayslack’s meat!)

This is my second time at Mac’s. I love Mac’s. It’s a dive but not a dive. I figure a true dive doesn’t have windows. Or Mac’s fantastic menu. Mac’s is all windows so it’s bright and because it’s bright, you can tell that it’s not crawling with creepy crawlers. (Unless you have to use the bathroom, then you might wonder) Oh! That reminds me of the time we ate at Harry Singh’s and there were cockroaches crawling on the wall! During the day! What was in our food?!! Thank god Harry Singh moved his restaurant. But I won’t go back and I’m suspicious that he’s in an even worse building.

Back to Mac’s. I’ve decided that Mac’s is one of my happy places. I was so comfortable, sitting in my high stool with my feet propped up on the heat register; watching the people on the street. I wish I’d had a book. I could have sat for hours! And the food is really good (I had mini burgers and a cucumber salad. Last time I had a baguette with turkey, granny smith apples and cheese…they don’t have the typical dive menu)

After dinner, we had some time to kill so drove around for awhile. I really need to get downtown with my camera. I miss downtown. We talk about moving back downtown. I’d run downtown today were it not so fricking humid!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 8, 2010 10:09 am

    I cut up a granny smith apple and leave it on a plate, snatching s quick snack whenever I walk by. Even if I don’t wait a long time in-between, it takes me about an hour to eat that apple. Two advantages: (1) apples are really good for you, and (2) I don’t eat any junk as long as there’s any apple left.

  2. August 8, 2010 3:05 pm

    I have been meaning to tell you they have a lot of new stuff on the menu at Mac’s, everything has been really good of course. John actually picked up Mac’s for me yesterday for my last dinner in the hospital. Not a bad way to spend my last night before coming home!

  3. lap permalink
    August 8, 2010 4:18 pm

    I love Mac’s! It was where we’d go for lunch when I worked at Riverplace, and I loved their salads as much as their chicken wings.. I was disappointed and seriously underwhelmed by Town Talk, and had the most negligent waiter ever there. It made me frowny.

  4. August 8, 2010 11:49 pm

    Glad to hear you’re out and about…getting back to life bc.

  5. dakotagirl permalink
    August 9, 2010 8:57 am

    Did you ever get to Hell’s Kitchen? We’ve been there a couple of times now. I really liked it and didn’t think the prices were unreasonable.

    • August 9, 2010 9:05 am

      I haven’t been to the new location but have eaten at Hell’s Kitchen many times – and always want to go back for more. Do you have their cookbook that came out recently? You can make your own lemon ricotta pancakes!

  6. August 9, 2010 12:03 pm

    …you wouldn’t want to even try to beat Mayslack’s meat! made me snort with laughter. You funny, lady.

    Sounds like Mac’s is the place to be for you!! I love sitting around, people-watching, especially when there was delicious food to be had at the same time. Mmm food… That might explain my fluffiness issue. Haha.

Leave a Reply

