Skip to content

I Am Not Lying

August 9, 2010

In my healthier eating ways (I am far from perfect, my friends) I am also cutting back on the Diet Coke. I am not giving it up. Not unless somebody can prove to me the harm it does. Scientific evidence geared specifically at me. Same thing with the  proof of God and Jesus Christ. Thanks.

I’m mixing up the Diet Cokes with water (ew) and non-sweetened iced tea. So I went in search of an automatic iced tea maker because I have to make my life as easy as possible and I have this goal to purchase every small kitchen appliance known to mankind. You should see the crap I own that I never use. I own a popover pan. I don’t know why. It’s not even an appliance!

I went to Target and I saw this. In a box. Brand new. Not sitting on the counter, out of the box, as though it were the secret break area for healthy beverage drinking Target employees.  Not knowing the price, I figured I’d buy it anyway because I’m rich like that. Or not. I just spend money as though I’m rich like that, which explains why I am NOT rich like that.

My Target total for the day was under $100 and I wondered if I was sick because who can leave Target without dropping $100?

When I was loading my purchases into the back of my vehicle, I took out the receipt and saw that the Sunbeam Iced Tea Maker was $4.99.

$4.99?

I know I’m bad at math but I can read a dollar amount on a Target receipt.

$4.99.

I thought about going back into the store because this couldn’t be right and I didn’t want bad karma. How much cancer can a gal get in a year? I did not want to find out.

But then I figured it was like a present after all the shit I’ve gone through this year so I shut the vehicle and tore out of the parking lot before the Target Police could catch me getting away with wrongly priced merchandise.

When I got home I went online to the Target website to see if perhaps the Iced Tea Maker was $49.99 and the person who priced it had messed up the decimal point location. If I worked at Target and I was the person who priced stuff, given my bad math skills, it wouldn’t be hard to do.

It was priced online for $29.99. So that theory was out.

I took the receipt out again and now that I didn’t have to worry about looming Target Police in charge of Wrongly Priced Merchandise, read the receipt right…the Sunbeam Iced Tea Maker was marked down from $29.99 to $4.99. Officially!

This was 3 weeks ago and I’ve been using it ever since. It’s awesome. Best purchase, ever!

If you can get your hands on this for $4.99, go for it. Hell, at $29.99? Go for it!

And then when you’re done going for that…go for these:

www.kitschinart.com – now, hopped up on Iced Tea!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 9:27 pm

    I can’t buy one at Target because I’m part of the Target boycott (they gave money to a MN politician that wants to kill gay people… go figure) However, I found one at K-Mart (as far as I can tell, they love the homos) for $16.99. I think I’ll buy one!

  2. August 9, 2010 9:37 pm

    Yes, here’s the <a href="http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-503544_162-20011983-503544.html&quot; CBS info on that boycott

    Revelations that Target Corp. donated $150,000 to a group that is running ads backing conservative Republican gubernatorial candidate Tom Emmer, who opposes same-sex marriage, continue to generate calls to boycott the company.

    I love Target, but I have my limits.

    Love the earrings!

  3. August 9, 2010 9:37 pm

    Yes, here’s the CBS info on that boycott

    Revelations that Target Corp. donated $150,000 to a group that is running ads backing conservative Republican gubernatorial candidate Tom Emmer, who opposes same-sex marriage, continue to generate calls to boycott the company.

    I love Target, but I have my limits.

    Love the earrings!

    • August 9, 2010 9:43 pm

      I bought the iced tea maker before this made the news. That being said, Target has apologized publicly and is readdressing this. I’m not boycotting them.

  4. August 9, 2010 10:10 pm

    I HAVE THAT ICED TEA MAKER! Actually, I had the older one. And then this one came out and I got it because it’s easier to use. Also prettier. I put the sweetener (just less than 1/2 cup of same-as-sugar Splenda for 3qts iced tea) on top of the ice and then it all melts together. Yummm.

    I hear what people are saying regarding the boycott of Target, but I think what we SHOULD be doing is figuring out how to prohibit large companies from donating so much money to political candidates. Because this happens all across the board, with all parties. It just doesn’t seem right that huge corporations can donate so much money that it’s almost a given that without these huge contributions, no candidate will get elected because they can’t afford the advertising.

    • August 10, 2010 8:44 am

      How much did you have to pay for yours? I gotta know!!!

      • August 10, 2010 9:54 pm

        I am pretty sure I paid $30. I am not nearly as cool as you. ;o)

  5. August 10, 2010 9:58 am

    I want a Sunbeam Iced Tea Maker for $4.99!!!

  6. August 10, 2010 8:13 pm

    I had a Mr Coffee Ice Tea Maker that looked almost identical to the Sunbeam. I melted the pitcher in my dishwasher. It was all lopsided and didn’t fit nice and close to the base anymore so I had to throw it out. Now I just make ice tea the old way, boiling water in the pot and soaking tea bags in it.

  7. Floweer permalink
    August 11, 2010 11:31 am

    Will you make ice tea while I make curtains? What is your timeframe? I can do it any evening!

  8. August 11, 2010 8:46 pm

    I used to have one of those too and I used it every day – my husband loved it! I have no idea where it is…now I’ve got to go find it!

Leave a Reply

