Skip to content

Body Surfing on Lake Calhoun

August 17, 2010

Oh blog. I has one. And apparently don’t have much interest in posting a new entry lately. I just don’t want to have to form full sentences. Like I ever have felt that pressure before.

So. What’s happened since I last posted and showed off my new, not yet arrived, curtain fabrics?

  • I removed the top layer of wallpaper and part of the bottom layer of wallpaper from the bedroom.
  • I took that damn dog on several walks. She acted like a fool. I wanted to kill her. I wished she’d break free from her collar and run away forever. She did not. I am glad.
  • I took that damn dog to the dog park yesterday. She acted very well. Another dog caused a fight at the end of our walk. I told her to knock it off. She did. It is no fun calling her a damn dog when she behaves well, at times.
  • I’ve been a social butterfly with my friends and it’s been awesome. I am an extrovert and I feed off of my friend’s energy. Thanks!
  • I’ve invited a couple of friends over to teach them how to bead and I’m really looking forward to doing it. I think it would be a good idea if more of my friends wanted me to teach them how to bead. I think it would be even more fun if some of my blog readers would fly into Minneapolis so I could teach them how to bead. I should open a Bead and  Breakfast. Lord, I am funny.
  • We bought a used car for Thing 2 to use, when we allow. It’s better than any car that The Big Nugget and I have ever owned. It’s an Infiniti I30 and we got it for a great deal. Which makes me suspicious and worried that it could break down at any given moment. But the car seemed solid and the guy seemed nice enough and had a newer Infiniti in his garage. He’s just into upgrading from one Infiniti to another. I drove it around last night. It’s an awesome car. I think Thing 2 might find himself using my Toyota Highlander instead.
  • Weeds started last night. I ordered Showtime the night before. I’d never seen Weeds until I was trapped on the couch with the cancer. Then I Netflixed my way through every season available and was hooked, even though it got ridiculous. Hooked on Weeds. Should be our family motto. Which is not funny. But I just had to say it. I watched The Big C after Weeds. I kind of liked it. Cathy, from Minneapolis, is dying the from the cancer. That’s funny stuff. It’s ridiculous, of course. Who goes out to dinner with their doctor? But he is the cute guy from My Boys and were he my doctor, I’d go out to dinner with him. Instead, my oncologist is a woman who is older than me and runs a rescue for dogs that belong to cancer patients who can no longer take care of their dogs. Ooh. I’ve got an out for Stella. I should go out to dinner with my oncologist, bring my dog, and accidentally leave her behind when dinner is over.
  • My mom dropped in yesterday. Bearing pretzels for the boys. As she is wont to do, she starts to look through stuff on my counters and sees the book I’m reading, Body Surfing by Anita Shreve (which I don’t like, by the way) and says, “Body Surfing? Are you taking up body surfing?” “Yes, mom,” I reply, “I’m reading a novel called Body Surfing so of course I’m taking up body surfing what with all the ocean waves around here.” Why do all of our conversations have to be so damned silly? In our lifetime together, could my mother and I never have a regular, adult conversation? Where somebody asks a normal question that reflects an interest in what the answer would be, and then allow the person to answer the question that was asked. A normal question, like, How was your day?
  • She tripped on my stairs. She insisted on going to the rooms of each of the boys, to say hello and other weird things. Thing 1’s room  is upstairs. She came down, and tripped on the bottom step. Thankfully she didn’t fall but now I have to call her today to check on her. She’s had cataracts for years that she won’t have addressed because that would take a cognitive chain of thoughts. Something she’s never been good at and is getting worse at. Which is scary because if you’ve never been good at something, what happens when you get bad at it?
  • Dear  blog readers, what is this thing with people shuffling around with the private stuff on my counter tops? I can’t believe how many people will actually pick up pieces of our mail, or open a bag from a store to see what’s inside? I kid you not. It’s gotten to the point where I’m going to assign a kitchen drawer to stay empty so that I can toss in our counter top papers when somebody drops in. So very weird. Some one actually came to my house, saw a plastic bag from a store sitting on my kitchen counter, picked the bag up, took out the contents of what was inside and inquired as to why I purchased such items.  Another person shuffled through my pile of mail and asked about a store flyer I’d received. Good thing it wasn’t from Fantasy Gifts (a local chain of sex toys 0r maybe it would have been perfect!)  I wish these were the rare occasions I could site.
  • People sure do drop in here a lot. And I don’t even have a garden center attached to my driveway (Hi Floweer! I should drop in more often and shuffle through your papers! Not that Floweer shuffles through my papers, for she does not. But Floweer is coming over to learn how to bead this weekend!)
  • People probably think I should put away my private paperwork. I do. Once a week. I make a pile on a counter corner and then on Fridays I take it downstairs, where the file cabinets are.  Should dropper byers force me to put away private paperwork more frequently? Should snoopy people have that power? When did snoopy people become the boss of me?
  • With this healthy eating (90% of the time) I discovered that peanut butter makes me sick and I can no longer enjoy a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Just thought you’d want to know.
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Gretchen permalink
    August 17, 2010 11:09 am

    I am kind of afraid if I commit to healthy eating I will find out things I like and consider staples are what make me feel crappy. Like if you made a food pyramid out of my diet, 100% whole wheat bread and bagels, and peanut butter would be the base of it. Not sure I’m ready to find out my entire way of eating is wrong for me! But you would think the motivation would be there if I might feel better.

  2. August 17, 2010 11:22 am

    You got to watch Weeds last night! I had read that the new season was starting, marked it on my calendar, and then started looking for it on the screen guide at 8 o’clock and it was nowhere to be found. Shee-oot! We get ShowCASE, not ShowTIME! I am so disappointed. Fingers crossed it’s only going to be a longer wait. Maybe I should check out this Netflix thing.

  3. August 17, 2010 11:31 am

    My girlfriend is so nosy.. the last time she was here I had stuff on my counter like a spool of thread and she asked what I was sewing….then she saw a bottle of lens cleaner for my glasses and said it was junk and too expensive and you could make your own. She comments on every damn thing that is in sight. God only knows what she looks at in my bathroom when she is in there. People are funny like that.

    bead and breakfast….good one.

  4. kim birt permalink
    August 17, 2010 5:04 pm

    you crack me up “Bead and Breakfast”!! too funny… love it.

  5. August 17, 2010 9:23 pm

    I would love to join your bead class but I am THE most un- crafty person I know. I try…I really DO try, but I’d end up losing your little tweezers, and notions and spilling all of your beads and just making a whole mess of things!! And then there’s the distance thing…

Leave a Reply

