Skip to content

I Will Follow You

August 17, 2010

So I go to this lymphedema class this afternoon. To learn about lymphedema. Which I already know way too much about. Hi Cathe! I’m taking a break from PT! Did you miss me?

I did learn something.

My hair is coming back way slower than most people at my stage of treatment.

The people I met, who are only 6 weeks out of their last chemo (compared to my eight weeks) have total head coverage. They can walk freely amongst the rest of you people without having to wear a fucking hat.

My hair is so sparse that it’s going to be another month before I’ve got total head coverage.

This is what I learned at lymphedema class.

Oh and that there are deep breathing techniques and a series of lymphedema-specific exercises I should be doing. That I have not been taught. Apparently I missed that part of my lymphedema PT. Totally clueless about the breathing and the specific exercises. Guess I better get back to see you Cathe.

I should be kept away from cancer support groups. They will only show me how far I  am behind everybody else.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Donna permalink
    August 17, 2010 6:17 pm

    Puh-lease! Are you seriously getting competitive with cancer? Are you part of my family? Because the comparisons (always *not* in our favor) could be about anything, disease included (“The doctor said it was the worst (bowel impaction, pinkeye, sucking chest wound) he’d ever seen!”).

    I think you’re doing great! And I worked in a hospital so I have total credibility!

    You have legions of readers who rarely comment, but we are all out here, pulling for you and snorting at your humor. Write on, girl.

  2. August 18, 2010 8:03 am

    Thanks Donna. I am competitive with the cancer. I’ll make sure and wear a cup to my next class!

Leave a Reply

