Skip to content

Hot Dog!

August 20, 2010

I met my pal, lap, for lunch yesterday. By the way, for those of you who think blogging is for people who don’t know how to socialize in real life? lap and I became real life friends because we’d found each other through our blogs. You can put that judgmental bit of snip to rest. God, you are so judgmental and I bet you didn’t even know it!

We met over in Nordeast Minneapolis at The NE Bulldog. I mean The Bulldog Northeast. lap picked out the place for us. She sent me the link to their website (just like I put here for you) and I could not stop looking at their menu. Well, I could. I exaggerated a bit to make this blog more entertaining. Boy, did that work! But their menu is so down to earth and oh! Hot dogs! What is wrong with me and my over-the-top love for hot dogs. Do you know that during my senior year in high school, I mostly  had hot dogs for breakfast? My dad would give me a look. You know. A look. And I would say “What? What’s the difference between this and a breakfast sausage? Leave me alone!”  to a man who wasn’t even saying anything about me eating a hot dog, just giving me a look that could have been nothing more than a reaction to me walking into the room and him responding to such movement.

So. Where was I?

Oh yeah. Hot dogs! The Bulldog Northeast serves hot dogs. I knew I was going to love The Bulldog Northeast.

But first, let’s talk about my head. I decided that I look so much more fashionable with my Chernobyl ‘do than I do with a baseball cap. So I parked in the back parking lot and walked my Chernobyl ‘do’ed head, all by myself, down the street and around the corner, into the restaurant. People are so cool about my horrible head. Nobody bats an eye. I was greeted and seated by the hostess just like a regular-haired person. lap was there the very next second, which was nice because I get a little self-conscious when I’m sitting at a restaurant table alone, let alone alone with a balded head.

God, my writing is so not full of made up words. I should write a book. And give an editor an aneurysm.

It was nice to get a hug from lap because the last time I saw her, back during the Girl Scout cookie sales days, I couldn’t hug her due to the physical pain it would cause. By the way? That myth about me not liking hugs? It’s a myth. The whole anti-hug thing came about from when I was working at the Frame Shop and Mike, the accountant, always went around the room hugging people. I didn’t know him. I was at work. He was wearing shorts. It was just too much for me. I made up not  liking hugs because I didn’t want to hug some strange geezer in shorts. Now I know that Mike is awesome and his hugs are the best. There you have it. Let it rest. Hug away.

Hot dog!

Thanks for going out to lunch, lap. Let’s do it again.

Then I got home and my sister dropped in and during the course of her visit, I discovered that she wears really high-waisted pants. But you would already know this if we were facebook friends. Why aren’t we? You don’t want to miss out on this and the fact that I got a free make-up kit, with purchase, at Ulta.

Can you tell that somebody’s feeling a little facebook-impaired after she removed a few not-friends from facebook the other day?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Diane B permalink
    August 20, 2010 9:07 am

    I was your fb friend and I think you dumped me!

  2. Barb permalink
    August 20, 2010 9:29 am

    OK, that menu? OMG! The tater tot hotdish??? Braised beef? Truffled tater tots? Could I use more question marks ???? I am almost speechless and want to hop a flight just to go for lunch. Wonder how airfare is between PA and MN?

  3. August 20, 2010 12:06 pm

    I feel soooooo left out!! DINNER!

  4. poolagirl permalink
    August 20, 2010 12:11 pm

    I like the whole hot dog idea for breakfast. Excellent! I am back to my own computer now so I will be commenting again. Hard to do on that wee iPhone. It sounds like you are getting better every day. Good news!

  5. Sue permalink
    August 20, 2010 1:08 pm

    Well, which hot dog did you have?

    • August 20, 2010 2:10 pm

      I can’t remember what it was called. But it had these cute little peppers on it and fried onions.

  6. Bev permalink
    August 20, 2010 1:11 pm

    hello, Kathy… I’m the long-time reader who just deactivated my facebook account after one too many situations beyond my control 🙂
    anyway, just wanted to say hi, and I would totally read your book! Love reading about your adventures…distracts me from the teenage angst I live amongst…:)

  7. goatbarnwitch permalink
    August 20, 2010 5:09 pm

    Blogging is soooo for the social, afterall we bare it all and then, if we are lucky, we meet really cool people in 3D! Can’t comment on the hotdogs being all veg and stuff but the tater tot options are waaaay coooool (clearly vowel overloaded right now – teehee)

  8. Leslie permalink
    August 20, 2010 6:04 pm

    OMG, hot dogs are the best. I have to limit myself to one a year, but I do love them!

  9. August 21, 2010 11:39 am

    I love hot dogs. I eat them twice a year. I have one in the summer because it’s mandatory (it’s summer) and the other one I have Halloween night. When the kids were little that was our Halloween night dinner. I had to shove them out the door to collect candy at 6 pm (only from 6 – 8) and we didn’t get home until 5:30, hots dogs to the rescue.

    Why I still follow this tradition is beyond me, I no longer have little trick or treaters. Some habits you just can’t get rid of.

Leave a Reply

