Skip to content

Girls’ Night Out in My Basement

August 22, 2010

Floweer and Carol came over to my house last night so that I could teach them how to bead. Now all I want to do is have Floweer and Carol come over to my house so we can bead some more. We had so much fun!

Back in the day, when the kids were little, I had people over so that we could rubber stamp. And then it switched to beading. And then it switched to nobody came over because everybody went back to work – as their kids got older – except me. Me. The lonely beader.

Now that Floweer and Carol have the beading fever, and we can work it around their working selves (I’m so jealous. I want to be working, too!) I’m excited to have people in my basement, crafting again.

I do believe that the world might be finding it’s balance again.

Now if my danged hair would just come in a bit faster, I might find my inner balance as well.

Tomorrow my school buddies, my younger son and my husband go back to school (The Big Nugget’s taking a night class). I don’t go back to school. And I’m pretty bummed about that because I really liked being back in school. But I’ll be back in school in the spring and working on my goal of eventually working again.

So a special shout out to my DCTC buddies. Have a turkey burger in my honor and if you can, get yelled at by a teacher for misbehaving.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol permalink
    August 22, 2010 9:49 am

    I am wearing the earrings and the bracelet today, and if I don’t say so myself my accessories look adorable!

    Thanks so much for the wonderful evening! I enjoyed the conversation and learning something new.

    I am looking forward to our next class!

  2. Agent99 permalink
    August 22, 2010 9:52 am

    Misbehaving? As if! I only get yelled at for being a dunderhead. My game plan is to fly under the radar this semester.

    Good luck to Thing2 and The Big Nugget as they adjust to classes and homework. Is this TBN’s first class since college?

    • August 22, 2010 10:29 am

      Hey K – Have fun tomorrow. You’re smarter than you give yourself credit. And TBN has had many classes since college, including a couple at DCTC!

      • Agent99 permalink
        August 22, 2010 11:44 am

        Misbehaving isn’t much fun without GS there, acting as the evil mastermind. Our plans for world domination will have to wait!

  3. Beth permalink
    August 22, 2010 10:26 am

    Good morning!

    You probably already know this, but I found the BEST bead store in the Twin Cities – you won’t believe the selection. It’s called Storm Traders and it’s at the corner or Snelling and Minnehaha – about 1 mile North of the State Fair Grounds.

    I wish you fast growing hair and beautiful beads!

    Beth in Stillwater

    • August 22, 2010 10:28 am

      I’ve been there several times, Beth! Love it. Even better, though, is Bobby Bead over in Minneapolis on Hennepin and 24th-ish (across the street from the Uptown YWCA)

      I’m going to bead and bead and bead and maybe, just maybe, the hair will grow faster!

  4. August 22, 2010 11:23 am

    Getting yelled at in school for misbehaving was never very difficult for me!

  5. August 22, 2010 1:59 pm

    Keep beading! I have a temp job and I just might be able to buy some of your gorgeous stuff again! 🙂 Besides, beading is good for growing hair. I read a study somewhere… ❤ ❤ ❤ u!

  6. Su Chick permalink
    August 22, 2010 5:38 pm

    Hey! I’ll miss you this semester, but I will count on your returning in January! Okay?
    p.s. I’ll make sure your pals get yelled at! Ha!

  7. Floweer permalink
    August 22, 2010 7:28 pm

    I have a new obsession. This is so much fun. I am looking forward to the classes. Hope Carol doesn’t find out you gave me some additional support-coaching-leading-and guiding. I want to be teacher’s pet! Loved the ride in the Land Rover. Nice to see TBN smile from ear to ear!

    PS – finished the earrings – on to a bracelet.

  8. August 22, 2010 8:28 pm

    Ooo beading! If I lived anywhere near Minneapolis I’d have to come over for lessons. That’s one thing I have ALWAYS wanted to learn.

  9. August 23, 2010 12:04 am

    Do you have some photos of what you all are making? I’d love to see some of it. I wore the necklace you gave me, so generously when I was having a rough time with chemo, to an interview. I love it! Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

