Skip to content

The Land Rover

August 23, 2010

Before I attempt to remember what I’ve been up to, I wanted to answer Linda’s question about photos of the jewelry we made on Saturday night. I didn’t take pictures. Why didn’t I take pictures? I need to take pictures. So Floweer and Carol will have to bring their stuff back so we can get pictures. They each made a strung bracelet and a pair of matching earrings.

And then on Sunday, Floweer showed her true, obsessive/addictive self by making me go to Michael’s and Joann Fabrics with her, so that she could pick up the supplies needed for our next jewelry class: The Fringe Bracelet. I can see a bit of myself in the Floweer so I’m not passing judgment. Just happy to have another partner in my obsession boat.

We had a big event happen here yesterday afternoon. The Big Nugget bought himself a 1966 Land Rover last fall – or was it this spring?  (Remember? I called it a Range Rover.) After months of The Big Nugget working on it, he not only got the engine to turn over, he was able to take the vehicle out on the road! I was #5 to get a ride because Nugget went over to some neighbor’s house and let them and their kids get rides first. Fine. Put me at #5 will ya?

That thing is hysterical. I love it and I don’t love it. It’s got an aluminum body. Not a speck of rust on it!  It’s old. It’s bouncy. It’s about 100 degrees inside. It has manual steering and I’m pretty sure that The Big Nugget had to pump the brakes before they’d actually work. The Big Nugget is not an auto mechanic. But he’s so dang book smart that he can learn how to do just about anything. I’m forever impressed with how talented he is. It doesn’t hurt that he’s dang cute!

He finally gave me my turn so we headed over to The House of Floweer so we could force them to take turns. Floweer, who was beading when we got there (hello? Beaders Anonymous?) announced that she didn’t have to go to the state fair this year because she got her ride fulfillment for the year. I could hear her Weeeeee!!! before I could see her!

I had a doctor’s appointment this morning and when I returned, I discovered that The Big Nugget drove the Land Rover to work. On the freeway. I called. He arrived at work. I’ll let you know tomorrow if he doesn’t make it back tonight. Although I assume he’ll make it back. He has class tonight.

Speaking of class tonight, it was Back To School day around here. All of my DCTC pals started without me today. I’ll see you guys next semester! The Big Nugget starts his JAVA class tonight, and Thing 2 had his first day at the local community college. He said he made it to class, just in time, after getting half of the way to school and having to turn back to get his backpack full of supplies that he’d left behind. And then he had to walk from a remote parking lot because he missed the shuttle bus. Dude was wearing jeans and a flannel shirt. People. It’s 90 degrees today with a heat index of Ridiculous. He survived.  He has class tonight, too, but he’s refusing to ride with his dad. He’d like to keep a low profile I guess.

I’ll be hanging with Thing 1, who turned 21 today. Wow. An adult. Didn’t see that coming. I picked up a DQ ice cream cake for tonight but we’ll do a family dinner tomorrow night. He just got a new job and starts on Thursday. Part time at a theater a couple of suburbs over. We’ll be driving him until he gets his license. But he’s got a job and that’s awesome, so we’re on to goal #2! At least there are 3 of us who can take turns driving now!

Today I had a doctor’s appointment at the surgeon’s office. The original breast surgeon’s office, not the plastic surgeon’s office. There was a stitch sticking out where the port catheter had been. And it’s been driving me crazy for over a month. Apparently dissolving stitches can pop out from under the skin, causing them to not dissolve as they are no longer in a dark, wet, under-skin location. It feels less irritating already.

I had lunch today with my cousin, Kaja. She lives near Rapid City, SD, and I don’t get to see her often. I’m always so happy to see her. I miss her so much. We met at my new spot, The Bulldog Northeast. But this time I didn’t have a hot dog. I had their Togarashi Burger:

Togarashi

Togarashi spice, Japanese coleslaw and wasabi mayo.

$9.00

Awesome!

I’m sure I’ll be back soon. The Big Nugget’s sister is flying in from Honolulu tomorrow, and we don’t do any cooking at home when she’s here.

Which reminds me, I better get my ass off of the computer and do a little cleaning up around here. The cleaning people don’t come until Thursday so I’ve got to do some serious defurring!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Floweer permalink
    August 24, 2010 12:56 pm

    Me – OCD? Come on! I was doing my homework – as instructed – and the teacher just happened to call and check up on me (who is OCD – huh?) – tore me away from my work to bounce around in a turquoise Hawkeye Pierce mobile. Love the beading. Need better tools – and light – but it is great. Can’t wait for lesson 2.

  2. August 25, 2010 4:03 pm

    Hope you have a good visit!! Just want you to know I was looking at beading/jewelry stuff the other day and thought of you. I don’t dare start it for fear I would start a compulsive addiction! So many pretties…EEEEEKKK!

Leave a Reply

