Skip to content

It Was A Great Idea Until Nobody Showed Up

August 29, 2010

You probably saw it coming, I know I should have. I did way too much yesterday. And it’s nobody’s fault but mine.

I rented a steamer to remove wallpaper, hoping that with all the help I thought was coming, we might get a wee bit done. Not only did just my niece Tracy show up, but the steamer did nothing to remove the wallpaper that had been adhered to the walls back in the early 70s, without any sizing put on the drywall first. Not the room redecorating crew I’d hoped for. I don’t know how we’re going to get that wallpaper off but I do know that I’m not going to do it and I’m going to start making some calls this week to find somebody who will either remove it or skimcoat over the crap, no matter the expense, and we’ll call it a day.

What needs to be done is to make Gay Marriages legal, and Wallpaper illegal. That would be my campaign platform were I to run for office. What office, I’m not sure. The Office of My House, I guess.

My  niece Tracy is awesome. We tried for two hours to remove that crap. The steamer. Scoring the wallpaper and rolling on DIF. We got nowhere slowly. So after two hours of me wanting to pull what little hair I had out, I said, “Let’s go shopping!” So we headed out, with bits of my new curtain fabric, in search of bed coverings. Nothing at Bed, Bath & Beyond; nothing at TJ Maxx. We found bed covers at Macy’s. Perfect. All I wanted were those thin quilt coverlets. 2 of them. I got one in white and another in turquoise that matches the curtain fabric exactly. And they were 50% off. Which means they were still ridiculously expensive what with those Macy prices. But still. Perfect!

Then I took Tracy for her first visit to The Big Bowl. And her first hit of Fresh Ginger Ale. I believe I have succeeded in getting The  Big Bowl a new addict. Maybe I should run for the Office of Restaurants.

When we got home my brother and little sis-in-law arrived. Unwilling to attempt to remove wallpaper. Losers. And then Tracy’s husband and 2 of their 3 kids stopped in. Little Caden is 5 mos. old now. Too cute. To think, the delivery of that sweet little baby almost caused the death of my niece. I’m so glad they’re both here. Naughty baby.

After they left I took Thing 2 over to Urgent Care. He’s had a fever and a sore throat for a couple of days now. I haven’t take anyone to Urgent Care for years but I do remember that sitting in the waiting room can take years so I grabbed 4 magazines to keep me occupied while I aged. That must have been all we needed to ward off the lengthy visit because we were in and out of there in half an  hour! Thing 2 didn’t test positive for strep, thank goodness, but was able to get a doctor’s note so he could give it to his nasty manager at work. That asshat thinks my kid is faking his sickness and threatening to fire him if he calls in sick again. Thing 2 just left for work right now with the doctor’s note and a fever of 100. I think he should give his manager a hug today.

I am physically drained today. My arm and hand are more swollen than  usual. I’m actually wearing my compression sleeve and glove while I type this. I couldn’t take the heavy feeling the lymphedema gives me. Lately I’m just getting more used to it but today, there’s no getting used to it so I’ll just wear the sleeve and glove for as long as I can. Which is about to end as soon as I finish typing this entry.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. poolagirl permalink
    August 29, 2010 1:52 pm

    Sorry about your small crew! But it sounds like even a big crew couldn’t have done the job. My mom used to wallpaper everything and then remove it. Constantly. I feel your pain.

  2. August 29, 2010 7:25 pm

    When my husband bought his first house, the living room was covered in about six layers of wallpaper. I confidently took a week off work and rented a steamer. It was a nightmare! It ended up taking almost a month, and it’s not that big a room. I scored it and steamed it, and then scraped with a spatula like you use to put on spackle. What a nightmare, I will never do that again. The room sure looked cute when it was done, though. Good luck!

  3. August 30, 2010 6:48 am

    Removing wallpaper should be one of the punishments in hell… I must have steamed, scraped, clawed at, and screeeched at about 10 layers of wallpaper, some dating back to the 1930s, in our first house…. there was even wallpaper inside the closets! I hope the professionals get the job done so you can enjoy your new colors 🙂

  4. August 31, 2010 10:02 am

    My daughter and I had to strip wall paper from a kitchen a couple of years ago and she put fabric softner in a squirt bottle and used a bowl of hot water and a sponge and it made the job a little easier, messy yes, but it came off easier. Maybe you could use that and the steamer too. May work better. I do know one thing hire someone if you can because wall paper is nightmare, not to mention what it does to your nails and in your case, you could injure your arm. Thinking of ya! Beth

Leave a Reply

