Skip to content

You Are The Guy!

September 1, 2010

I called a contractor friend the other day to get the name of a guy who might be able to skimcoat my wallpaper hell. I got the name of a guy and called the guy, leaving him a message – telling him why I was calling him.

Two days passed and no return call from the guy. Typical of people in the construction/remodelling field. Which is really confusing seeing as how today’s economy is really bad and there’s a whole lot of bankruptcy being filed.

I just got off the phone with the guy. He called to tell me that he was no longer in the construction business. Just wanted to let me know.

Oh no.

This guy is just the kind of guy we want for all of our remodelling needs. A guy who  returns phone calls, even when he doesn’t have to.

I wished him the best of luck in whatever new career he has because this guy deserves well wishes.

I just wish he was the guy for me.

Back to square one.

Stupid wallpaper.

***

I spent some time on some breast cancer discussion boards yesterday. I haven’t done that, much, since this nightmare began. I pretty much put my head down and mucked through this crap.

They know all about my fuzzy head because most of them had the same hairdo and it looks like it’s going to be several more weeks before something resembling not-bald shows up.

Stupid fuzzy head.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jean permalink
    September 1, 2010 4:41 pm

    I’ve been meaning to tell you – I had wallpaper that WOULD NOT COME OFF in my living room and dining room. Since our house was built roughly the time the waters receded from the face of the earth, the walls were not that smooth and lovely. We hired a contractor (that returned our calls, believe it or not!) to sheath the rooms in 1/4 inch drywall. And the ceilings. Granted, it was a bit more expensive, and your lovely, lovely house probably has flat, smooth beyootiful walls, but it made my not-cool-enough-for-the-historic-registry house look brand new.

    Or you could skim coat. But did you ever think about painting over it with some commercial primer???

  2. mo from ne permalink
    September 4, 2010 4:21 pm

    I wish that my bf was not deployed right now. He is a handy guy who returns phone calls and cleans up when while he is working and when he finishes up. We would motor up there, stay somewhere very cheap ( I am a master at low to no cost lodging), and he would do removal and the skim coating for a reasonable price. He does some good work and has references. But he is doing carpentry over in Afghanistan till January.
    While he does the work I could hang out with friends, visit museums, or make a new friend and we could go to lunch. One time he did a roof for relative of someone we know we stayed in a community college dorm for $12 a night and called it working vacation. I loved it cause I got to go downtown/mall/parks/museum when I wasn’t hauling shingles or supplies. It was great fun. I hope we can do this next summer because this way I got visit friends and experience other places than my little rural town in NE! Or I can visit my sister or his aunt who is always fun. I know might sound weird to you but I feel bad cause I know how hard it is to get work people to come to your house. As a single mom for years I never knew what to expect when people would show up to do work. I now know it’s the same for everybody. Good luck with the wall paper!

Leave a Reply

