Skip to content

Junk Bonanza

September 17, 2010

The Big Nugget and I spent some quality time together this afternoon. I made him go to the Junk Bonanza with me.

I’ve never been to this before. I only recently found out about it and this whole junking phenomena when I bought a Flea Market Style magazine, and found out that it was a local magazine. In the magazine were some links that I checked out that were {re}junking blogs and blogs of local antique stores. Antique stores that are not your typical antique stores but more a combination of antiques and new gifts.

So very cool.

If you’re in the Twin Cities this weekend, the Junk Bonanza is open through Saturday. My god, there are some incredibly cool things there. The Big Nugget was as impressed as I was. What people can do with old stuff amazes me. One of hte

I didn’t buy anything but I’ll probably hit one of the local shops so I can buy one of these black and white signs:

They had some larger ones that had both Minneapolis and St. Paul points of interest painted on them. I need one. Need!!!!!

I don’t know why I didn’t buy one when I was there. Probably because The Big Nugget was with me. He’s a good person to take along when I want to curb my spending. Too bad he can’t be with me every minute because I know I can get these at the Round Barn Potting Co.

NEED!!!!!!

This woman had the coolest Halloween-themed stuff. Makes me want to redecorate my house with a Halloween Around The Year theme. If you click on the cat it will take you to her website. Unfortunately, she took all of her product down while she’s selling it here.

This guy had the most amazing leather jewelry and jewelry made from the coolest of stuff. You can click on the photo to go to his etsy page but like the artist above, most of his stuff is not on the website during this sale. Check back later. I couldn’t get over his creativity!

They had a shuttle bus that took people from Canterbury Downs (in Shakopee, where this was located) to The Creative Connection, at the Hyatt in Minneapolis, where there were alot of creative workshops and a handmade goods sale going on. I see that Pioneer Woman was there yesterday and today. I didn’t make it down to the Hyatt because I was confused about what The Creative Connection was. I thought it was part of The Junk Bonanza. It wasn’t. Just friends.

Next year I’ll check that out. And spend some money.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2010 6:58 am

    What a fun day! I would love to see all that cool stuff. But unlike the Big Nugget, Chuck tends to encourage me to buy cool stuff when we are shopping together at neat places like that. And then he’s there to carry my purchases! He’s really a great shopping buddy 🙂

  2. September 18, 2010 4:12 pm

    Steampunk money clips!

  3. Carol permalink
    September 18, 2010 6:58 pm

    I didn’t make it to the Junk Bonanza this year, but I have been there in the past. My friend has a booth there. She makes purses out of hard covered books. Way Cool! It is fascinating to see what people can create!

Leave a Reply

