Skip to content

Right After My 3 Month Check Up

September 22, 2010

I don’t know why some of you thought I was having my 3 month check up tomorrow. I titled my post “Right Before my 3 month…” literally.

So. That happened. I had my list and I asked all the questions.

1. What in the fuck did you do to my hair? I didn’t really ask that. I just felt it. I didn’t even ask about my hair, really. I just commented about how slow it was taking.

2. I asked, “What are you looking for?” The oncologist is doing a general exam, looking at my lymph nodes on my neck and under my arms to make sure there’s no swelling. Lab work was done and came back healthy. But the Cancer Antigen blood test results won’t be back until tomorrow afternoon. (CA27.29 is a blood test specific to breast cancer. If the number rises, I’m toast.)

3. Tamoxifen vs. Arimidex. I’m on tamoxifen for the next five years, which is what most breast cancer patients get. Arimidex is given to post-menopausal women. I’m menopausal, mostly. What my oncologist plans to do is give me tamoxifen for a few years and then maybe switch over to arimidex. But maybe not. Arimidex has alot of tough side effects including horrible joint pain and bone loss – and a greater chance of broken bones. Tamoxifen has side effects, too – including blood clots and such, but my oncologist has specifically seen alot of patients who can’t tolerate arimidex. As long as Tamoxifen is doing it’s job, she’ll probably keep me on the tamoxifen. We’ll address it later on. Right now I don’t have many, if any tamoxifen side effects. Occasional hot flashes and maybe a couple of bouts of hip pain?

4. Oophorectomy (hello Susan! Best Medical Terminology teacher in all the land!) aka Surgical removal of ovaries. I asked this because another blogger going through this same crap brought it up and got me thinking….my cancer was estrogen-positive and my ovaries might still be kicking out a little estrogen so why not get rid of the ovaries. My oncologist thinks that if I want them removed, I should look into it with my gynecologist. But she thinks that the tamoxifen takes care of the estrogen issue – and even if I got my ovaries removed, I’d still have to take tamoxifen (our adrenal glands also produce estrogen.) An oophorectomy does not completely eliminate the chance of getting breast cancer and it’s a big surgery, so for now, I’m going to pass. I thought this was an interesting response at breast cancer dot org regarding this.

5. I had other general stuff to show her and ask about (the nails, the hematoma – which seems to have shrunk) but it was pretty much nothing. She’ll see me in 3 months.

Thank you, everyone, for your well wishes and words of wisdom, And bringing up the nail thing, Sue! Patty – I appreciate the fact that you’ve had days go by where this topic didn’t cross your mind. Thanks for sharing that with me.  You are always welcome to hunt me down and kiss my downy head! Diane – I’ll go see my stylist, soon. I’m hoping for any curl on my hair. That would be the miracle here. Not that I survived breast cancer but that I’ve got curl in my hair!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2010 4:26 pm

    Kathy I am so happy you have reached a post-cancer/post chemo milestone and so far so good (except for the hair of course). Keep living loud and saying FU to that rotten cancer thing.

  2. September 22, 2010 6:39 pm

    I’ve been a road warrior these last few days and have missed reading. Thinking of you and knowing you will have curls soon!

  3. capitolady permalink
    September 22, 2010 6:48 pm

    Good luck with the tests. Praying they are good, and soon you will have a perm 🙂

  4. September 23, 2010 9:31 pm

    “1. What in the fuck did you do to my hair?” You CRACK me up…but I also know you must be so frustrated waiting for those damn locks to grow back in. Squeezing you from afar.

  5. September 24, 2010 9:51 am

    That explains a lot. I was in the Arimidex category, hugely expensive. I had the info via my daughter-in-law (before she was). Did you ever see a post of mine entitled “The Maven”?
    http://l-empress.liscious.net/older/006168.html
    This was written about a year after I finished chemo.

Leave a Reply

