Skip to content

Friendly at the Auto Body Shop

September 28, 2010

I’m not done blogging yet for the day. I just got off on a Jeff Aquilon tangent. I really am shocked that I still remember his name. I’m going to make an awesome dementia patient some day. Talking about male models from the 80s, quoting lines from Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure and insisting that you are my grandchildren!

Speaking of walking down memory lane, I found myself, again, at the auto body shop that I took the Toyota to several years ago. I know it was more than 3 years ago because as far as my insurance is concerned, I get one no-fault accident every 3 years without my premiums going up.

I met the insurance company’s claims guy there so he could take photos and see what damage I’d done when the mulberry tree jumped in front of the back of my car.

We then went inside where he handed me over to the auto body guy so he could get parts ordered and such.

“Hi Paul!” I said to the auto body guy.

“Hi Kathy!” the auto body guy said to me.

And I knew I’d better straighten this out so that the insurance guy didn’t think I spent a lot of time at the auto body shop and figure out a way to raise my premiums.

“We went to high school together,” I informed him.

I don’t know what the total damage costs will be. I’m responsible for the first $500. It looks like they’ll be replacing an entire back panel but be able to salvage the bumper and the hatch.

That tree LEAPED behind me!

It was fun to see Paul again. He’s such a sweet guy. I’ve known him since I was a kid of 9. He lived down the street. I wasn’t happy to see him again with my near-bald noggin’, but what are you gonna do when your hair refuses to grow at a normal post-chemo rate?

13 weeks post-chemo today. I’ve actually got some hair on my head. Just not sure of the quality of it yet. And today has been a good lymphedema day. Minor swelling. There’s always swelling, but it doesn’t garner my attention at all times today. That gives me hope that this shit might actually go away! Or be tolerable.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2010 11:34 pm

    My hair is maybe an inch long on the top and it’s been FIVE months since my last chemo treatment. It’s cute. I’m leaving it short. I shower and dry it with a towel. No breasts, no bra. No hair, no blow dryer. Carefree livin’.

  2. September 29, 2010 9:33 am

    Great memories. Once in a while memories make us smile and even cry at times. You had a great one about auto repair shop. Cute!

Leave a Reply

