Skip to content

Jeff Aquilon

September 28, 2010

I just read bye-bye pie and June Gardens mentioned Jayne Modean, a model back in the late 70s and early 80s. She also did a bit of acting. Miss All America.  I thought she was cute. Jayne Modean. June is cute, too. I am jealous of her big, curly hair. June’s. I don’t know what Jayne Modean’s hair looks like these days.

Anyhoodle. That entry of June’s brought me back in time. To my college dorm room in Mankato, Minnesota. Where I had my closet covered with photos of male models that I’d cut from the GQ magazines that I subscribed to. I did. I subscribed to GQ.

Because I’d seen Richard Gere in American Gigolo. About ten times. I know I saw it under 13 times because I’d gone to the theatre 13 times to see Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure. That’s my movie-going record. So proud. I made my dorm buddies go with me again and again to see naked Richard Gere in American Gigolo.

And then I subscribed to GQ and got a crush on a male model by the name of Jeff Aquilon. And yes, it’s pretty odd that I still remember his name. When I have a crush, I have a crush!

As a matter of fact, CiNDy, do I have the picture of my face put into the wedding ad with Jeff Aquilon or do you? (I ask CiNDy, who has a younger, chemo-free brain and always remembers things better than I do.)

People – this is what my 1980s crush looks like today. Do I know how to pick them, or what? Looks like he’s going to be in Vman magazine this month. How funny that June would take me down this road right now, when Mr. Aquilon hasn’t modeled since back in the 80s – but here he is now!

Thanks for the memories June! The very hot memories.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Gayle Dobson permalink
    March 6, 2011 9:18 pm

    Funny to read about Jeff in your blog! I grew up in Goleta, CA. and Jeff was a year older than me. We went to the same church and schools and yes he was/is a cutie, especially after he got his braces off. I have my old year books, and him on the water polo team is quite nice. He comes from good stock, I think I can remember my mom commenting on how handsome his dad was, and his mother was quite pretty also. Wonder where he is now?

    • March 6, 2011 9:59 pm

      Gayle – that’s awesome! Thanks for sharing that.

  2. Gayle Dobson permalink
    March 8, 2011 1:39 pm

    I’ve got a picture for you. Send me an email if you want me to forward it.

Leave a Reply

