Skip to content

An Ode Against The Mulberry

October 3, 2010

Tomorrow is the big day. The day I meet Chuck. I hope Chuck has a good night’s sleep tonight.

I can’t figure out what Chuck is going to want from me tomorrow. I’ve been to therapy before and it seems to me that they want me to figure out what it is that I want fixed. Here’s the thing – I don’t want to be the boss of counseling. I’m the boss of everywhere else and I’m just so very tired of it. I would just like to go in and sit down and have Chuck ask all the right questions and take the right notes and make everything alright.

Maybe we’ll start there.

“Fix me, Chuck! You’re the expert, do your thing! I’ll be sitting over here, let me know if you have any questions or when you’re done.”

Either that or I’m going to start quoting from Night Shift:

“Do you like music, Chuck?” (humming Jumpin’ Jack Flash)

“I’m an idea man Chuck, I get ideas, sometimes I get so many ideas that I can’t even fight them off!”

“What if you mix the mayonnaise in the can, WITH the tunafish? Or… hold it! Chuck! I got it! Take LIVE tuna fish, and FEED ’em mayonnaise! Oh this is great.”

Chuck is going to earn every penny.

***

I drop the Highlander off at the auto body shop tonight. The more I look at my vehicle the more I want to write a poem:

mulberry tree

with your purple berries that track on my floors

with your purple berries that give me a stomachache

too small to climb

too hard to not cause damage to an SUV

drop your leaves then drop dead

Wow. My first poem since the 5th grade! Another hidden talent.

***

My broken oven will not stop me from baking. As I type this a little pan of cherry crisp is baking in my little toaster oven. Poo! on you, my Siemens dual fuel oven! You’re not so fancy afterall. After all, you are broken and a little toaster oven is showing you up.

***

Yes, I’ve got a cold and it’s showing in this entry.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 8:15 pm

    I remember my first day at the therapist. He asked me one question and I immediately started crying. I considered it a wonderful ice breaker.

  2. Floweer permalink
    October 3, 2010 9:09 pm

    Hope you are feeling better. Might need a beading evening. Just to feel creative again. Take care – and I hope tomorrow goes well.

  3. October 4, 2010 9:07 am

    don’t get all dolled up for your first visit, it sets the bar too high for future visits. just wear some sweatpants and a chili-stained shirt.

    the next time you go and you are all fixed up and bootiful, he will think he fixed you!

  4. Jean permalink
    October 5, 2010 8:40 am

    So – does Chuck think that you’re just plain bat-shit crazy or what? Or does he think that you’re an amazingly strong woman who has dealt with the crap you’ve been given in the best possible way?

    I do.

    Lurve ya, Kathy. And your new jewelry is TO DIE FOR.

Leave a Reply

