Skip to content

Sentimental Journey

October 5, 2010

It’s been one of those sentimental kinds of days. Firstly it’s been sentimental because one of my little brother’s friends died this past weekend and it’s just so danged sad. Unexpectedly, at age 49, leaving behind a wife and 3 boys from 5th grade to 11th grade. And leaving my brother, who’s more than a bit anti-social, without a friend who ignored his anti-socialness and stopped in at his house frequently. I can still see him now, sitting at my little brother’s house. Such a nice guy. Such a sad loss.

Secondly, I spent some time out in the Big Nugget’s workshop, removing stain from some furniture. A couple of drum tables – no big deal. But I also removed the stain from a bookcase my dad had made probably 50, maybe 60 or more years ago. My god. Where does the time go?

Before

And so I spent a little extra time caressing the bookcase, thinking about my dad using his hands to make it.

Lord, I’m a sentimental fool.

It really was awesome to spend time this afternoon working at something so solid. When I get done I’ll have something to show for it. I like that kind of work. I really like working in the Big Nugget’s shop. It’s full of stuff but he’s organized it recently so it’s not as chaotic as it can sometimes be.

This is the Festool system that he got all hooked up for me. When you sand, there’s a vacuum hose attached that sucks away all the dust. I’ve used it to sand off wallpaper in the house and it’s so clean! I still want to sand down 2 more small tables, 2 dressers (one that my dad built and one that my grandfather built) and a mirror that attaches to the dresser my grandfather built. Both my dad and grandpa were carpenters and it’s so cool to be reworking the stuff that they made.

That green thing hanging in the background is the roof to the Big Nugget’s Land Rover, which he’s been driving to work because, man, the weather is awesome in Minnesota right now.

I snapped a few “head shots” for you. See the hair finally starting to look a little bit thicker?

And see how I can now advertise sodas on my chest? Again, sentimental. My little brother works at Coke and it’s just one of those sentimental kind of days.

Am I weird that I don’t give a crap that I’ve got a flat chest? And again – it makes me feel sentimental because I think back on the days when my older brother used to tease me when I first started to get boobs. Even though I wasn’t getting them. I think he didn’t have the patience for me to actually bloom before he got around to teasing me. Lord knows I’m the latest bloomer I ever met.  I think I made my mom get me a bra even though I was about as flat as I am today. He’d ask me if I was wearing my “Spanky Trainer”, whatever the hell that meant. I can’t ask him, of course, because he died at age 41, what – some 15 years ago now? leaving behind a wife and 3 kids. 15 years? Holy shit. I miss him so much!

*sad*

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol permalink
    October 5, 2010 8:52 pm

    On a light note….. I have two of those same round tables. I have refinished them and they are beautiful.

  2. October 5, 2010 10:04 pm

    Love seeing the photos of you and what you’re doing, flat chest, bald head, and all.

  3. October 5, 2010 10:57 pm

    aging + cancer + therapy = the emergence of feelings we may have tucked away for a while

  4. October 6, 2010 11:13 am

    i found you the perfect shirt while looking for a certain logo!

    http://www.cafepress.com/dd/19051474

  5. October 6, 2010 5:57 pm

    I’m so sorry about your brother’s friend. And I’m sorry about your older brother, too. The anniversary of my brother’s death is later this month, and I’m dreading it already…

  6. October 6, 2010 8:16 pm

    Yep, I can most definitely see that your hair is coming in now and I love the Coke shirt, although mine would have to say Diet Coke and would be silver and black and therefore not as cute!
    I’m so sorry you’re feeling a little sad right now – I think the chainge of seasons makes us all reflect on the past. {{hugs}}

Leave a Reply

