Skip to content

The Day Stella Ran Away. Or Did She?

October 6, 2010

I was starting to get ready to head out and meet some friends in St. Paul for coffee this afternoon. I went outside to call in Stella Mirra, Retrieved Golden, who’d spent most of the morning outside. In an attempt to get the remaining 4 squirrels who dare to still live in our back yard.

She was nowhere to be found. I called and I called. Nothing. No collar jangling. I realized that one of gates on our picket fence was unlatched and that there was enough of a breeze for the gate to open on its own.

Oh dear.

I called for her some more. Nothing. So I hopped in the car and drove over to the park, where she’s made a beeline before on the couple occasions that she got loose – before the picket fence was installed. I was surprised that she’d slip through the open gate. She’s got a fear of gates. She’s got a fear of baby gates, for goodness sakes. She stays in a room in a  baby gate is propped loosely against the door frame, even though it’s got a good 8 inches opening on the side so the cats can come in and out! Stella Mirra, Retrieved Golden and Big Chicken.

I asked a couple of guys who were playing disc golf if they’d seen a very fast golden retriever/lab mix zip by. They hadn’t. I drove around the neighborhood but it was getting time for me to leave to meet my friends.

I thought to myself, “I suppose she’ll show up eventually. Either here or at the dog pound.”

Care about your dog much, Kathy?

Not enough to give up meeting friends for coffee.

I stood by the car in the driveway and texted to the kids and the Big Nugget that the dog was missing and to listen in case she showed back up in the garage.

Then the testing on the first Wednesday of the month at 1 p.m. tornado/storm sirens went off, which brought a howl from the very back corner of the yard. Stella hates that damn monthly siren testing. I’d walked way back to that corner earlier but I didn’t climb around the woodpile, which is where Stella Mirra had been hanging out, apparently – fixated on the chipmunk who always seems to get away from her.

I called for her between howls and she came running.

Damn dog.

I texted everyone that the runaway dog had not runaway afterall.

And then I went and had coffee with my friends, which is what I was going to do whether I still had a dog or not.

Damn dog.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 7:01 am

    hahahahahahaha! I love you!

  2. Floweer permalink
    October 7, 2010 4:17 pm

    Stella is so devoted to her job – and you! The yard is safe! You are safe! Once this roofing project is done – I gotta get beading again. I need it – and conversation!

  3. October 10, 2010 8:24 am

    Wood pile hiding chipmunks are a great attraction for Gus~Super Spaniel, too. More challenging than squirrels, I think…..

Leave a Reply

