Skip to content

Belly Up to the Deer

October 7, 2010

My widdle head is sunburned. In October. After an entire summer of not burning my bald head I do it today. That’s what I get for running around all bold and baldheaded.

Actually, I was sitting around, not actually running around.

My best friend from high school, Tammy, left me a voice message yesterday to let me know that she was going to be having a garage sale today. These days I am always looking for some way to get the heck out of my house without spending money so I thought it was a great idea to go and hang out with Tammy.

The cleaning people came early today (I never know what time they’re going to show up) so I went to Tammy’s relatively early and spent about 5 hours sitting in the sunshine. Hence, the sunburn.

Man, it took alot of words to share a sunburnt head with you all.

Thanks for inviting me over Tammy, it was nice to hang with you again. I hope tomorrow goes well! I’d come over and hang out again but I have to hang out here and wait for service repair guy to show up again and install the heating element that arrived at my house today.

And I have to run over and finally pick up the Highlander, which is just about fixed. Actually, my buddy Paul thought it was fixed but by the time I got to the shop he decided he wanted it more mixed so sent me back home.

It would have been annoying had I not been impressed with him taking such good care of me. He always was a nice kid.

Speaking of kids, my first childhood friend, ever, posted an old photo of us on Facebook the other day. This one:

That’s me on the left with my arm thrown over a deer (click on it for a larger version) as though it’s an everyday occurrence. Did we have lyme’s disease back then? Because that could explain a few things. Like why I cried when I missed the Loretta Young Theatre one afternoon while my Grandma was babysitting, at the ripe old age of still sleeping in a crib, “Young tears! Young tears!” What a goofy damn kid! Seeing as how my little brother was born about 2 1/2 years after me, I’m guessing I lost my crib rights at the age of 2 1/2 so that would make me a Loretta Young Theatre fan at 18 mos. or so. Kids those days!

Lauri’s the one on the right, feeding “Bambi” as we called her. Because we were both so creative back then.

Lauri posted this and tagged a girl named Terry, who still lives in my childhood hometown and knows all the people that I can still remember (all 6 of them) but the girl in the red dress is not Terry and we must have spent hours pondering who it might actually be. Which means hardly anything to me because I only remember about 6 kids from my 6 years in Zumbrota, and unfortunately Terry is not one of them – nor is the little girl in the red dress who is not as casual as me with the deer.

I don’t recall what actually happened to the deer. I do remember us driving out in the country somewhere to visit “Bambi” at a “Deer Farm.” Kind of like the time we had a dog for an entire day and then the dog went away to a “Farm” where it could “Run and run and run, like dogs get to do on the farm.” Or like how our Grandma always had brand new kittens one weekend but the next weekend the kittens would have “moved away.” Sure they did.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jean permalink
    October 8, 2010 12:46 pm

    This kind of looks like ‘Fawn-Doe-Rosa’ up by St. Croix Falls!!!!

Leave a Reply

